Ann's Sister's Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
As everyone knows, I hate meatloaf but it is one of hubby's favorite dishes. This was very good (accdg to hubby)! We omitted the MSG and otherwise made to recipe. I even ate some if that tells you anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I usually make meatloaf without using a recipe, but as I was serving it to company, thought I had better "go by the book". This is a great recipe. Does anyone even use MSG any more? I don't. I omitted any salt at all, and also used a few teaspoons of dried minced onion rather than the dry onion soup mix, which is full of sodium. I didn't use the bacon this time (was serving it to a guest who is on a salt-free diet). Thanks, Debbie--this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This is the meatloaf recipe I've been looking for. Something like my mom used to make. I made slight changes. I threw in some chopped onion (b/c bf requested) and some worchestershire sauce. I left off the bacon and topped the whole thing with ketchup. I also made only half (just the 2 of us) and froze half. The cooking time was almost the same, but I slightly overcooked the bottom. Not a problem because we like the crunchies. I think with a little bit more tweaking, it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Easy, Easy, Easy. Did not use MSG. Tasted wonderful, kids and husband loved it. Served with mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle M.
Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I tried this recipe last night for dinner and it was amazing, I loved it, and so did my family I even brought some over for my in laws who also loved it. I used Italian Style bread crumbs with romano cheese and it added just the spices it needed, I fallowed everything else the same, I didn't use bacon either. But thank you for this recipe, I had a craving for meatloaf and it was worth every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I made this last night for our family. It was phenominal. I could not purchase onion soup mix at our small grocery store however, so I substituted it for an onion vegitable dip mix. It worked wonderful. I also doubled the bacon! It was a hit and in fact I am eating it for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Really good....even the leftovers got eaten. I used Italian bread crumbs and added a little garlic powder and Worcestershire. Instead of plain tomato sauce, I used catsup, brown sugar, and mustard. Using a 'meatloaf pan' that allows the grease to drain away as it bakes really helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This was pretty good. My boyfriend and son really liked it. Will make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
This meatloaf recipe was so easy to make, and i think it might be the best i've had. I even got a compliment from the husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I'm Asian and this is my first try of meat loaf. Both my 10 yr old daughter and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States