Ann's Sister's Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This is great, I do omit the MSG and depending on what we are having with it omit the tomato sauce. If we are having french fries, I top it with ketchup, if we are having mashed potatoes I leave it plain and heat up a jar of gravy. Also I shape it into a loaf in a 9x13 pan and add about a cup of water to the pan right before it goes in the oven, it helps keep it moist and the meatloaf doesn't stick and the grease is easier to drain out. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This recipe is great. I did, however, make one minor change. I did not add the MSG to the mixture. I made this and we loved it. We will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Wow. I am not usually the one to disagree with the crowd of reviewers on recipes, but this was not good, and my husband and daughter agree. I did use the tomato sauce instead of subbing ketchup, so maybe that would made some difference. I followed the recipe exactly except the MSG. We really did not like the texture of this. It was heavy and bland. We prefer the mini meatloaf recipe from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This is my favorite meatloaf recipe--I was so happy to find it on allrecipes.com! I usually make it into three loaves, topping each with bacon and tomato sauce, and cooking them for about 45 minutes, instead of an hour. It's really great reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
My family enjoyed this alot! If you want the bacon on top to be crispy, as bacon should be, pan fry it a bit before putting it over the meatloaf. Also, I rolled about 1/4 c of chive cream cheese inside the meatloaf. It came out fabulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Madonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I hated meatloaf growing up, but this is great! I, too, left out the MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Excellent meatloaf! I left out the MSG and substituted ketchup for the tomato sauce. Served with Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese (on this site) and broccoli. Husband declared it the best meatloaf recipe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This meatloaf beat out my mother's as the "best" in the house. I love it. I usually leave out the MSG but other then that I don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I have never made very good meatloaf, but this recipe is a winner. Very easy to make, recipe is great as is or add a few of your favorite items to it. Your whole family will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Just ok. The meat seems a bit... pasty. I think it's because there are too many bread crumbs, or that it doesn't use crushed crackers. The only things that I changed to the recipe was add some italian seasoning and cook the load for an extra 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States