Ann's Sister's Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Very good flavor - I substitued Heinz 57 sauce for part of the ketchup, also didn't use all of the water. Very good texture, but needed more than 1 hour to bake. About 1 hour, 15 minutes. Overall, wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This was really good. I omitted the MSG and bacon. I added 1/2 an onion, chopped. I also used Lipton Beefy Onion soup mix. My dad loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This recipe was okay. Nothing mind blowing about it. I will continue trying other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Very good and moist! I too left out the MSG and and bacon. I reduced the amounts of each ingredient as I only had 1 1/4 lb of meat. I forgot to pour on the tomato sauce before baking, so I poured ketchup over the top when the meatloaf came out of the oven. My husband loved it. There was 1 small piece left over which made a great sandwich the next day..Will definitely use this recipe again...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This was a very good meatloaf recipe and easy to make. I covered the meatloaf with ketchup instead of tomato sauce and left out the MSG & bacon. Kids even liked it which was a shocker! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
Great meatloaf recipe. It is just as good without the bacon. I didn't use the MSG, and I found that it is better with ketchup on top instead of tomatoe sauce. The texture is nice, and it doesn't fall apart when it's cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
Everyone loves this! I "enhance" it a bit by finely chopping one small, seeded green bell pepper and mixing it in with the other ingredients. Also, my young sons (undeveloped palates) like it when I mix ketchup in with the tomato sauce for the topping - I do a 1/2 and 1/2 mix of the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This was good but mine came out with a weird texture. I will stick to my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This is a 5-Star recipe exactly as written! I make it often. I usually omit the MSG and the bacon. Sometimes, I substitute equal parts old fashion rolled oats for breadcrumb. Sometimes I use a 50/50 mix of beef and venison. I've made many modifications to this recipe based on ingredients I have on-hand, and I haven't had a bad experience yet! This one is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This was definitely the best meatloaf I have ever made. I omitted the MSG and tomato paste - just used ketchup on top and it was great. I was a little concerned that it wasn't done all the way after any hour because it's very gooey - I kept it in an extra 10-15 minutes and it was perfect. Even my picky 5 y/o son loved it (though he wouldn't admit it lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States