Ann's Sister's Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I have the original clipping from Ann Landers' column and have been making it for years. Hers doesn't call for the bacon and I don't use it. I substitute Lawry's season salt for the Accent. I also normally skip the tomato sauce and go with gravy since I serve it with mashed potatoes. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Left out MSG, made in a muffin pan. Great meatloaf recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I did not include the MSG, but otherwise made it per the directions. It tasted fine, but I have had better meatloafs. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I make it this way every time and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
My wife and I are allergic to MSG, so I left that out, along with the tomato sauce and bacon. Instead of ketchup, I subbed 1/4 c Jack Daniel's BBQ sauce with a splotch of A1. Smells wonderful..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen DeKok

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made this recipe without the MSG and I didn't have any bacon. I did add about a half cup of chopped onion , fresh parsley and only use one cup of Italian seasoned breadcrumbs. I put this in a Pyrex type casserole dish and had to cook it for an extra half an hour then it said. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Delicious and moist. I used lean turkey ground meat and added fresh chopped parsley and chopped mushrooms. I omitted the MSG, bacon and tomato sauce. I think chopped onion and some salt would be a good substitute for the onion soup mix. My husband said he likes meatloaf using real meat but he said this was outstanding. I highly recommend this recipe with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I had never made meatloaf before and was a little nervous but this turned out amazing and my husband absolutely loved it! I took the recommendation of another reviewer to mix the catsup with the brown sugar and pour it over the top but I also followed the recipe and had the brown sugar and catsup on the bottom of the pan too. It was pretty sweet - next time I will def have the sugar and catsup mix on the bottom and top but will likely use less on each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaNicJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This was my first meatloaf ever and EVERYBODY LOVED IT!!! Great recipe that I'll be keeping for future use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I have found that using extra-lean ground beef works just as well as lean. Sometimes I'll use a cheese sauce on the top in place of the tomato sauce and substitute little bits of ham for the bacon. Like other reviewers, I NEVER use MSG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States