Ann's Sister's Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
next time i will not use bacon. it was tasty and moist. i used fresh ground meat from the butcher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I have the original clipping from Ann Landers' column and have been making it for years. Hers doesn't call for the bacon and I don't use it. I substitute Lawry's season salt for the Accent. I also normally skip the tomato sauce and go with gravy since I serve it with mashed potatoes. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Left out MSG, made in a muffin pan. Great meatloaf recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I did not include the MSG, but otherwise made it per the directions. It tasted fine, but I have had better meatloafs. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I make it this way every time and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
My wife and I are allergic to MSG, so I left that out, along with the tomato sauce and bacon. Instead of ketchup, I subbed 1/4 c Jack Daniel's BBQ sauce with a splotch of A1. Smells wonderful..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen DeKok

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made this recipe without the MSG and I didn't have any bacon. I did add about a half cup of chopped onion , fresh parsley and only use one cup of Italian seasoned breadcrumbs. I put this in a Pyrex type casserole dish and had to cook it for an extra half an hour then it said. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Delicious and moist. I used lean turkey ground meat and added fresh chopped parsley and chopped mushrooms. I omitted the MSG, bacon and tomato sauce. I think chopped onion and some salt would be a good substitute for the onion soup mix. My husband said he likes meatloaf using real meat but he said this was outstanding. I highly recommend this recipe with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I had never made meatloaf before and was a little nervous but this turned out amazing and my husband absolutely loved it! I took the recommendation of another reviewer to mix the catsup with the brown sugar and pour it over the top but I also followed the recipe and had the brown sugar and catsup on the bottom of the pan too. It was pretty sweet - next time I will def have the sugar and catsup mix on the bottom and top but will likely use less on each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaNicJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This was my first meatloaf ever and EVERYBODY LOVED IT!!! Great recipe that I'll be keeping for future use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States