Ann's Sister's Meatloaf Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
next time i will not use bacon. it was tasty and moist. i used fresh ground meat from the butcher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I have the original clipping from Ann Landers' column and have been making it for years. Hers doesn't call for the bacon and I don't use it. I substitute Lawry's season salt for the Accent. I also normally skip the tomato sauce and go with gravy since I serve it with mashed potatoes. Great comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Left out MSG, made in a muffin pan. Great meatloaf recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I did not include the MSG, but otherwise made it per the directions. It tasted fine, but I have had better meatloafs. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I make it this way every time and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
My wife and I are allergic to MSG, so I left that out, along with the tomato sauce and bacon. Instead of ketchup, I subbed 1/4 c Jack Daniel's BBQ sauce with a splotch of A1. Smells wonderful..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen DeKok

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I made this recipe without the MSG and I didn't have any bacon. I did add about a half cup of chopped onion , fresh parsley and only use one cup of Italian seasoned breadcrumbs. I put this in a Pyrex type casserole dish and had to cook it for an extra half an hour then it said. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Delicious and moist. I used lean turkey ground meat and added fresh chopped parsley and chopped mushrooms. I omitted the MSG, bacon and tomato sauce. I think chopped onion and some salt would be a good substitute for the onion soup mix. My husband said he likes meatloaf using real meat but he said this was outstanding. I highly recommend this recipe with a few adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I had never made meatloaf before and was a little nervous but this turned out amazing and my husband absolutely loved it! I took the recommendation of another reviewer to mix the catsup with the brown sugar and pour it over the top but I also followed the recipe and had the brown sugar and catsup on the bottom of the pan too. It was pretty sweet - next time I will def have the sugar and catsup mix on the bottom and top but will likely use less on each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaNicJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This was my first meatloaf ever and EVERYBODY LOVED IT!!! Great recipe that I'll be keeping for future use. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States