Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
i liked it, but my family (and a very picky husband) loved it! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eLi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urb. Ponce De Leon, Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This was truly fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFabulous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
i have made this several times. using chicken broth instead of water, tomatoe paste, old b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
EXCELLENT recipe! I used this for company and it was RAVED over! I used a chunky one-cup measuring cup, packed the rice tight into it and dumped it out onto each plate. Then I served up the etoufee OVER the mound of rice, garnishing with lemon and orange slices and parsley. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Maziarka

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I gave this a four because I did some changes for tastes. If you enjoy seasoning, I suggest the following: Use chicken broth instead of water, season with McCormicks Cajun Seasoning and McCormicks Red Pepper Seasoning. I used half shrimp and half crab meat. My hubby could not believe how YUMMY it all was!!! I served this with some of my signature cornbread and it was the perfect compliment to this great dish! Thank you Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J'sHomeSousChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Even though my family rated this 5, I still didn't taste anything extra-ordinary that would make want to have this again, especialy with the long cooking time. I don't know, maybe it's due to all of the changes I made- used chicken broth as recomended (and yes, I scaled it down) added 1 tbs tomato paste and used 2lb shrimps and 1/2lb scallops (which was my first time cooking scallops- and they came out delicious!) Also, as spices used , besides the ones in the recipe, cayene pepper and a lil bit of chili powder for a kick. over all was good and enjoyed it. Thank you for a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kfar Saba, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I found this to be a great way to use up leftover New Year's Eve shrimp. Very yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
My family loved this etoufee. Have also used this recipe with chicken and sausage instead of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
****BAM**** Holy moly, this is PHENOMENAL. Even if you consider yourself a GREAT cook, I think this will impress you. I followed the recipe exactly until adding the salt...at which point, I used Zataran's creole seasoning salt (using the saltiness to guide you). This roux was SO SMOOTHE (thanks to the butter me thinks). It danced lightly upon every taste bud I have. Absolutely the BEST recipe I've tasted in a long time (and I'm a cook...not just a now-and-again-er, if you know what I mean...). MMMM-mmmm-mmmm. HALLELUJAH say's the taste buds! Can't thank you enough Ann!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Delicious. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States