Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great base recipe. Definitely needs more heat to be truly cajun. I add 2 to 3 tsp. of creole seasoning when I make this. I also use chicken or seafood stock instead of the water for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
didn't care much for this recipe. i love shrimp and this is not a 'shrimp wonder' dish to me. maybe pork roast would have been better for this. Thanks for sharing anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehjudah
Home Town: Marshall, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Made some modifications according to my taste. (added 1 TB Tomato paste, worschestire, and extra garlic). I changed the servings to 8. Also, I only added 1 cup of water in the end. Lastly, we served this over whole wheat angel hair pasta with some parmesan. Very Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUV2COOK25

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Very good! I didn't change too much in the recipe, but I did at some Cajun grill seasoning, for more flavor. And, I used chicken stock instead of water, also for more flavor. So easy and yummy, I'll definately make this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ranessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This recipe was delicious! It took FOREVER to make, so I may try and find some shortcuts. I will be making it again though! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everjonez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was great! I didn't have any cayenne pepper and felt the only thing it needed was a little kick. Next time, I'll make sure I have some handy because I'm sure it's perfect with it added. I also added 2tbsp of tomato paste and added a rue to thicken at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, and it came out fantastic! My husband, who rarely likes shrimp, said he loved it, too. He had it over rice and I had it over salad greens (low carb diet). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Like others, I quartered the recipe. I used 1/2 california paprika and 1/2 smoked spanish paprika. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grant L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Will use again. Family ate all of it. I did have a lot of leftovers but they didn't remain as leftovers after my husband and kids went back for seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I scaled the quantity down to 1/4 of the original recipe. Based on other reviewers' comments, I agreed that, as is, this dish needed some depth of flavors; so I used chicken broth rather than water, added homemade cajun seasoning (rather than just paprika, cayenne, S&P), a little worcestershire, some tomato paste, garlic powder along with the fresh, & a bit of white wine. I used a portabello mushroom & all that was available in my town was already-cooked shrimp, which I tossed in toward the end, after the sauce had simmered, to warm it through. Served over sticky rice alongside steamed buttery broccoli. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States