Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipes was ok. I'm a big fan of cajun dishes but I thought this one was a little bland. I did add some canjun seasoning but I think if I make it again, I will follow some of the other reviews and use chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Oh my goodness. I have been craving etoufee and need to make some at 11 at night because I am pregnant and had a craving. This was so good. Thank you so much for posting this so that me, my fiance, and the baby in my stomach have a great meal. I think my fiance was just glad he did not have to find a restaurant open at 11pm that served etoufee. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Great base recipe. Definitely needs more heat to be truly cajun. I add 2 to 3 tsp. of creole seasoning when I make this. I also use chicken or seafood stock instead of the water for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHCMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
didn't care much for this recipe. i love shrimp and this is not a 'shrimp wonder' dish to me. maybe pork roast would have been better for this. Thanks for sharing anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehjudah
Home Town: Marshall, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Made some modifications according to my taste. (added 1 TB Tomato paste, worschestire, and extra garlic). I changed the servings to 8. Also, I only added 1 cup of water in the end. Lastly, we served this over whole wheat angel hair pasta with some parmesan. Very Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUV2COOK25

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Very good! I didn't change too much in the recipe, but I did at some Cajun grill seasoning, for more flavor. And, I used chicken stock instead of water, also for more flavor. So easy and yummy, I'll definately make this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ranessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This recipe was delicious! It took FOREVER to make, so I may try and find some shortcuts. I will be making it again though! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everjonez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was great! I didn't have any cayenne pepper and felt the only thing it needed was a little kick. Next time, I'll make sure I have some handy because I'm sure it's perfect with it added. I also added 2tbsp of tomato paste and added a rue to thicken at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, and it came out fantastic! My husband, who rarely likes shrimp, said he loved it, too. He had it over rice and I had it over salad greens (low carb diet). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Like others, I quartered the recipe. I used 1/2 california paprika and 1/2 smoked spanish paprika. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grant L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States