Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Thank you, Ann. I have been always afraid of making shrimp etoufee, and this recipe made it so easy. I added some thyme, rosemary and basil and 1 chopped tomato. I also used a pinch of cayenne and dash of tabasco sauce. It didn't thicken as much as I wanted, so I added some corn starch at the end. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made this for the adults at my son's birthday party a couple of weeks ago, and it was a huge hit! I added a few pinches of cayane pepper and a fairly generous amount of the red pepper flakes too. I left some Cajun hot sauce out for my guests to spice it a bit more, and everyone raved! Even one of the kids loved it. She told me that it was the best food she's ever eaten in her whole life! I'm making it again in a couple of days for another get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Was a bit bland, but that is easy to overcome. The sauce is VERY RICH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Very easy and delicious recipe! I made this for my Louisiana native co-worker as a holiday lunch surprise and she gave it the thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
During the thicking time I tasted the dish and it was pretty bland. I added my favorite cajun seasoning, Tony Chachere, and it really helped. Next time I will add about a tablespoon of it along with the paprika. I enjoyed this dish, but not sure how often I will make it due to the LONG prep/cook times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Mmm, wonderful! I added some cayenne pepper to give it some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I'll have to try this recipe again. I used olive oil instead of butter and cooked shrimp, which turned out chewy because I added it too early. I also used cayenne which made it way too hot. I'll have to repeat this recipe so I can give it a fair score.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is a great recipe. I reduced the water amount as recommended by other reviewers. Very tasty. Can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WEBANGEL14
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This recipe is AWESOME! The first time I made it, it turned out great and was delicious! I used shrimp and worried when my onions & celery browned too fast, but by the end, it smelled and looked wonderful! My 15-month daughter, who has never cared for shrimp, gobbled them up! I will definitely make this again! 2/15/15 - made this last night with a pound of shrimp and a pound of Tilapia filets, used 2 cups of water, added 1 tablespoon of cajun spice and 1 tablespoon of Watkins cajun spice mix plus 1 tablespoon of the paprika and a few shakes of parsley. Served over Jasmine rice - as delicious as always!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I scaled the recipe down and still it was terrific. As per some of the reviews, I added a bit less water. I also added some cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States