Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Time consuming, but worth it! We made some okra on the side and ended up mixing it in with the etoufee and cajun rice. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This was wonderful! I used about half shrimp and about half imitation crab (which I was a little hesitant about, but it added just a hint of sweetness, which was GREAT with the spiciness). Also, I bought a nice sauvignon blanc to drink with dinner, so I used half wine and half water at the end. I added the wine first and let it cook down a bit before I added the water, to make sure it caught the flavor. My husband, who generally does not like spicy food, LOVED this, and so did I. We will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaplane, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Excellent, Excellent. We loved this, and didn't change a thing. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Got rave reviews at my dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
I added alot of chopped parsley, took out the celery, and thickened it with slurry instead of flour. I also put in garlic salt, red pepper flakes, cayenne, hott sauce, a little cumin, and some onion powder. It was amazing with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WM Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Pretty tasty and very easy to make. Didn't have celery so I used a bell pepper instead, and it was probably better than it would have been with celery. I might put some more spice in it next time and try crawfish instead of shrimp. Overall, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
A bit more time consuming than i had originally planned, but very good. I changed things a bit-adding half a can of chopped tomatoes to the onions, celery mix. Also cut the water in half and added a bit of white wine. And most importantly, instead of using butter, i used olive oil instead(about 4 tablespoons). I thought it tasted great and with a Lot less fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This recipe was delicious. I did not abide by the cooking times as I thought that the shrimp would get tough.....and it worked out just fine. I did add about another tablespoon of butter in the beginning so the onions and celery would not burn. I also added the cayenne pepper and garlic salt instead of regular salt. My husband said to put the "on the list"! (he added that this was much better than his mom's and hers is to die for) Thank you Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Cut the recipe to 4 servings, used 1/2c water, then added 1/2c of wine and a couple healthy shakes of creole seasoning toward the end. With 5 minutes left til done, I added 1lb of defrosted pre-cooked shrimp. I don't know if my changes made the recipe better, but we sure did love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I really liked this but BECAREFUL! If you scale down the recipe, it does not change the amount of H20 listed in the method.I screwed up by adding too much H20 and had to let it cook way down. My dumb fault but it didn't dawn on me until I poured it in. Otherwise, it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States