Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Okay! This recipe turned out great. Though given all the of prior comments I did a good amount of adjustments. As with others I used chicken broth instead of water also I used olive oil in place of some of the butter. I also added heavy cream and green peppers. I really like the consistency of the sauce and the flavor. I do wish it had a little more color like that in the picture. Thanks for a good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I have been wanting to learn to make this, and this was a perfect recipe to start. I did substitute some items as suggested by other reviewers, and it turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Yummy. Almost as good as the restaurant where I first tried this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seneca Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Really good base to start with! I made about half of the recipe. I had to use frozen, thawed shrimp, and added them at the very end to not overcook. To up the flavor pallet I used beer, vegetable stock, and chicken bullion in place of water, upped the garlic (I only had garlic powder around) and used creole seasoning for the kick. We gobbled it up over some mixed grains and barley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
The main dish in our traditionally non traditional xmas dinner 2012. I was to cook this one, but the husband took over and that was fine as I was making rolls, mushrooms, and a chocolate cake. He's an awesome cook, so there was no doubt he would do a supreme job ;) This is a keeper for sure! We've been to New Orlean's and have had a cajun cook make a meal for us at home as well......I think this was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I'm a very picky eater and dislike grocery shopping. I stumbled upon this recipe one day and saw how little ingredients it required so decided I would try it. I couldn't believe how great it tasted. Since trying this recipe a month ago, I had been making it every weekend and eat them for lunch and dinner for the upcoming week. I doubled the recipes (40 servings) and finished eating the entire thing in less than a week. I'm addicted to this recipe. I will continue to make it once a week until I get sick of it, which I don't think I ever will. Few things I modified: I add some starch for thickening and 1/2-3/4 cup of red wine. I cook the shrimp for 15 minutes instead of the suggested 45. Also, to save some money, I double all the ingredients except for shrimp. Thank you so much for sharing such an awesome recipe. You make a picky eater like me so happy. I have problem with keeping weight on me due to my laziness of cooking and I don't like spending money eating out, but thanks to this recipe I have been maintaining my weight since I enjoy eating this so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Well like a few others I of course had to cut the recipe down & make some changes. I cut it down to a pound of shrimp (5/6 servings). I used chicken broth & white wine instead of water (a little over a cup). I also seasoned the shrimp in some old bay prior to cooking. I also did some other things to the sauce.. I used "Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning" (instead of salt) along with the paprika, a couple dashes of Whorcestershire sauce, I also added a chopped tomato for some flavor and color. With a few changes I would give this 5 star & I will keep it and make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Go easy on the crushed red pepper for a kid friendlier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I did use the suggestion of using chicken broth and a bit of white wine in place of the water but found the spices to be perfect. It's worth making again and again. Thanks for the recipe Ann! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States