Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I've made this recipe twice now, and I love it. Instead of seasoning with salt, pepper, and red pepper, I've stuck with Tony Chachere's Original Creole Seasoning (and lots of it). His blend is a good balance of spicy, salty, and robust flavor. Also, I used a mixture of shrimp and crawfish, but the crawfish make it sort of gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good - I followed the other reviewer's advice, added a splash of wine, chicken broth instead of water, half a small can of tomato paste and a few dashes of cajun seasoning. Delish! Husband and 9 year old daughter liked it. Have some tobasco on the table, too...MMmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This recipe is so yummy & versatile, I followed the suggestions by other reviewers and found them super helpful. I've made this recipe several times and loved it but tonight I substituted stew meat, used vermouth & corn starch to thicken the broth and then used it as a filling for a Shepherds Pie. It was by far the best Shepherds Pie I have had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
i substituted lobster we caught in the Bahamas..used about 6 - 7 tails and this was a great recipe! I have made it several times on request...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
So easy! So Good! This is awesome and simple - I will definitely be making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I thought overall this dish was good, although it was kinda of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wixom, Michigan, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made this for 4 and it was awesome! I was so surprised at how low calorie, but delicious this was. I did adjust the time and used 1/2 water and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daleville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I have tried several etouffee recipes, but this is the most authentic and best tasting. I have adjusted a little, including using lobster stock instead of water or chicken broth. I also started using half shrimp and half scallops, which everyone loves. Unfortunately crawfish is hard to find in Los Angeles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I'm sure the sauce is excellent but I just have to tell you that cook in any size shrimp for 20 minutes will only give you the toughest shrimp imaginable... Please be fair to the shrimp; put them in LAST and cook them only until they turn pink - 4 minutes at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Try this recipe. It's fantastic! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States