Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Go easy on the crushed red pepper for a kid friendlier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I did use the suggestion of using chicken broth and a bit of white wine in place of the water but found the spices to be perfect. It's worth making again and again. Thanks for the recipe Ann! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I followed some of the other reviews and substituted low sodium chicken broth and white wine. Also the last 4 spices and used tony chachers. So so good! Husband asked it be be added into rotation:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I have made this many times and I've changed it so much that it may be a different recipe at this point but it serves as written as a good start. I use 1 stick butter and 1/2 C olive oil. I add a green bell pepper chopped and a can of Rotel tomatoes. I add the water/ chicken broth and Rotels right after mixing in of the flour and let it all cook for about 15 minutes. If it needs to be thickened I add a mixture of cornstarch and white wine. I agree with another review that the shrimp is cooked way to long. I used chopped shrimp and crawfish tails and cook for about 6-7 minutes. This recipe will make 6-8 good size servings. Not even close to 20 small cup size servings. I find it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
very good. i cut the recipe down to just 1 lb of shrimp. tasted like a good gumbo. we served it w/ rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Decent! We liked it. Notice that if you lower the amount your making - the water you need is less too! & the cooking time is so much shorter. Ate on white rice & had Spinach Brownies on the side - Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was delicious! Next time I will serve it with garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
not sure that the directions are correct....saute onions, celery and garlic for 45 minutes? Not sure I would cook shrimp for 20 minutes either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
perfect to me just have to watch the h20 in the method. if you cut the recipe .. you have to cut the water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tedsbaby

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Excellent recipe! Added a couple of spoon fulls of tomato paste as some suggested. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States