Ann's Shrimp Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Wow- so tasty! I halved the recipe and cut down the cooking time for the shrimp a bit. Served over brown rice. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My brother brought this to our Christmas lunch. He used about 2 lbs of shrimp and cut back on the heat because my husband doesn't do spicy. Served over rice, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I've made this recipe twice now, and I love it. Instead of seasoning with salt, pepper, and red pepper, I've stuck with Tony Chachere's Original Creole Seasoning (and lots of it). His blend is a good balance of spicy, salty, and robust flavor. Also, I used a mixture of shrimp and crawfish, but the crawfish make it sort of gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Very good - I followed the other reviewer's advice, added a splash of wine, chicken broth instead of water, half a small can of tomato paste and a few dashes of cajun seasoning. Delish! Husband and 9 year old daughter liked it. Have some tobasco on the table, too...MMmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This recipe is so yummy & versatile, I followed the suggestions by other reviewers and found them super helpful. I've made this recipe several times and loved it but tonight I substituted stew meat, used vermouth & corn starch to thicken the broth and then used it as a filling for a Shepherds Pie. It was by far the best Shepherds Pie I have had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
i substituted lobster we caught in the Bahamas..used about 6 - 7 tails and this was a great recipe! I have made it several times on request...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
So easy! So Good! This is awesome and simple - I will definitely be making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I thought overall this dish was good, although it was kinda of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wixom, Michigan, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made this for 4 and it was awesome! I was so surprised at how low calorie, but delicious this was. I did adjust the time and used 1/2 water and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daleville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I have tried several etouffee recipes, but this is the most authentic and best tasting. I have adjusted a little, including using lobster stock instead of water or chicken broth. I also started using half shrimp and half scallops, which everyone loves. Unfortunately crawfish is hard to find in Los Angeles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States