Ann's Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is my go to recipe to add rice with my souvlaki dinner. Sometimes I cheat and just add a bit of fresh souvlaki marinade as I'm cooking the rice for the seasoning. The kids love it, and it makes a lovely twist on boring old rice. Have made it a few times already, and will continue to do so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
but my rice wasn't dry, it was still UNCOOKED.. i added a couple of tablespoons after cooking for 20 minutes and it was done enough, but the bottom was overcooked/crunchy.. if i were to try this again i'd use 3 extra tablespoons of water and watch it closely.. i liked the amount of pepper, but we're pepper lovers.. felt it was salty and i didn't even add the 1/2 tsp of salt.. i should have taken the advice of other reviewers and used 2 tablespoons of olive oil in place of the butter.. i think that would have solved the salty issue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Fabulous. Easily multiplied for large crowds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
We loved this recipe. I was serving baked cod and wanted a rice side dish to accompany it. This was perfect. I also wanted to have peas as a side dish, so threw the frozen peas into the pilaf the last few minutes. Saved washing a pan and looks very colorful. I've purchased the prepackaged versions of pasta and rice and like this much better. Doesn't take separate shelf space in the cupboard, and I can put in the spice and bouillon to suit the entrée. Makes a large batch, but reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatG64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
giving this 3 stars because the hubby really liked it, but i thought it was just blah. Didnt really like the flavor so i will not make again. thx anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
The family really liked this recipe. I added orzo instead of the broken noodles and it came out great. I also added a little chopped onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CharB26350
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I've been backing off box/bagged rice mixes and this is a winner! I used whole orzo to bump up the fiber and will also try with brown rice, but really good. This recipe is so versatile to add veggies & different spices. Possibilities are endless. 10 WWPP as the recipe reads but I'm sure that can be lowered a bit with the whole wheat and brown rice. Very grateful that you shared; thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
My entire (very picky) family loved this recipe! Very easy and much healthier than the boxed kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin'Cyn
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I like the flexibility with this recipe. It beats buying it in a box! My local grocer only had Orzo, which I actually prefer. I keep Knor bouillon cubes in my pantry at all times. It is more seasoned, so I didn't have to add extra salt. This was a perfect compliment to the Lemon Chicken Piccata, also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin'Cyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
My kids loved this. I prepared pretty much as written except for the Greek spice. I added my own seasonings. I prepared it for 8 servings instead of 4 and had leftovers even with me, my husband, and three hungry teenagers who each had generous seconds. As another side note, I'll probably use about half the butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States