Ann's Neptune's Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AZ93
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
The other reviews are right, this recipe is delicious! Making due with the ingredients I had on hand, here's what I did. I used imitation crab, scallops and shrimp because I didn't have enough without adding in the scallops. I didn't have sherry so I used 1 Tbsp dry vermouth. I doubled the paprika and added 1/4 tsp salt and am glad I did. Used whipping cream, which is just lighter than heavy cream. Two things to know about this recipe: 1 - the recipe is very liquidy before you cook it. See my before and after photos. It starts out like a chowder but the liquid is completely absorbed while cooking, so don't be afraid to add the full amount of the cream in. 2- this makes 4 small servings, not anywhere near 6. But it is VERY rich so you don't need more than this for 4. Pair it with light sides like a fruity green salad and bread or it will be too much. You could also use this as an appetizer for 4-6 by serving in a bowl with a slice of bread. Too chunky to use as a dip. BTW, the 4 Tbsp of butter on top aren't really necessary if you want to save the calories. So good! Thanks DorrenB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
luv, luv, luv this recipe. I also used bread crumbs...didn't have croutons. Did everything else according to the instructions. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Nice recipe! While cooking the shrimp, I added some baby bella mushrooms and minced garlic to the mix. MMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nanticoke, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Good. Very rich, as expected. I did not have cream so used 2 percent milk and increased flour to 1/3 c and butter to 3 1/2 T. Also, I used uncooked shrimp and cooked the whole thing in a 1.5 quart casserole for 30 min. Thickens as it cools. Came out about the consistency of thick gravy. Husband rarely comments about my cooking but instantly did. Kids (just about to be 2 and 4) ate it but pretty much just ate the shrimp out of it because they love shrimp. Would be great over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Delicious and very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Excellent. Although a little too thick. Sized the recipe for two of us and had to add about 1/2c milk to thin it a bit. It was absolutely delicious though, as my husband commented 3 times while eating. I will make it again although next time I'll increase the amount of liquid at the start and I'll use 10% cream rather than the heavier cream, or even mix in some regular 2% milk. A reduction of fat is never bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
My son (17) thought I was "Mom of the Year" for this one. He said it was the best meal I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is an amazing recipe! I get rave reviews everytime I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
SOOO good. This was a hit at my mother-in law's birthday dinner. The used fresh shrimp instead of cooked because I was afraid the shrimp would get over cooked. The fresh shrimp came out perfect. It is an awesome dish if you don't mind the fat content. I am going to try to lighten it up next time. Enjoy it on special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Quick, easy and delicious! I followed this recipe except I added in some pre-cooked mussles. Next time I would add in some vegetable broth to thin out the sauce and maybe dice up some veggies and add a touch of garlic. I would give this a 4.5 if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan-Crusted Salmon

What's cooking in Seattle? Jonae's delicious "flying fish."

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States