Ann's Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is a good base recipe, easy to work with and make the way you want. I added a can of red beans, some garlic powder, Adobo seasoning and a couple of dashes of cayenne. I also used brown rice instead of white. Very easy and inexpensive! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
My mom makes something like this as well. She started out making it in college since the base is rice so it is very cheap and you can make a lot to keep in the fridge for the week. Try switching the veggies up (carrots, celery, and corn taste great in it!) and adding some shredded cheese (I use cheddar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
We really enjoyed this one skillet meal! It's a great versatile recipe! I only had 1/2 a red bell pepper, so I added chopped carrots and some frozen kernel corn to make up for it. I added spices like cayenne pepper, oregano, & paprika for additional flavor. I also substituted beef broth for the bouillon granules & water. I used 1/2 cup of the beef broth to simmer with the browned beef & veggies while I cooked the rice separately in 1 1/2 cups of the beef broth, then added the rice to the skillet at the end so that I didn't end up with overcooked rice. It worked out well! We like to sprinkle some tobasco on top for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
If you like a tiny bit of bite, substitute diced Andouille sausage for ground beef. It becomes a medium-mild and inexpensive "poor man's jambalaya," missing the obvious seasonings, blackened chicken and shrimp/crawdads, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Amazing! I added garlic + tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe that my mother used to make also. It was one of those family favorites and a staple in our home. The only difference was that she didn't put in the bell peppers but did add some garlic. Also she sometimes added chopped tomatoes too. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
This was okay, but unexciting. Paula Dean's is much better. She uses bulk pork sausage and chicken livers with parsley and celery. I recommend Paula's, it's much tastier. Mmmmm . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great recipe!!! What a quick, easy and budget friendly dish! I didn't have any green or red peppers so I used a can of drained zesty jalapeño diced tomatoes and added water to the liquid to measure just over 2 cups and didn't add any salt since my tomatoes were seasoned. I will make with peppers this summer when I can pick them fresh out of my garden. I am definitely adding this to my normal dinner rotation! Thanks Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToriAthensGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Filling comfort food, just added a bit of Worcester Sauce to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this recipe for the first time tonight with excellent results. The changes I made were to use ground turkey breast instead of beef and I also added ketchup for a finishing touch that made it a very good meal that will keep me going throughout the week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States