Ann's Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Good start but missing a lot. I add ½ pound of andouille Cajun sausage, 2 stalks of celery, a few dashes for Louisiana Hot Sauce, 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce 1 teaspoon of dried parsley. I also saute the rice a little bit with the vegetables, before I add the liquid, to brown it a slight bit. A bay leaf is a nice addition and some thyme too, but not a must have, just adds lots of good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie Tucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
On the pro side, quick, easy and one skillet used. On the con side, I should have added other ingredients (I included mushrooms) as some suggested. Will try again with either tomatoes, celery, corn, or beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I loved this and so did my husband who's not that into rice! I made a few modifications though, I added some chilli powder and oil and one chopped Serrano pepper to the ground beef mix when sautéing. I also added some spicy beef sausage cut up of course before adding rice. It made it spicy and full of flavor. LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Delicious and so simple. Substituted cajun seasoning for the seasoned salt and added some shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I am leader of 4-H gourmet club in New Jersey and all the kids just loved it. The best part was it was gluten free and so everyone was able to eat it. We followed the directions and it was a nice side dish with the gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleAndrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I love this dish and tonight I decided to substitute rice with quinoa and it turned out great too. I also like to add some Cholula sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Easy to modify and make vegan! I added black been instead of beef and a veggie stock. Guest were impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Very good base recipe! Used ground cajun green onion sausage and added minced garlic, La hot sauce, worcestershire, Rotel, and Tony's to suit our taste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Made with Italian sausage, corn, diced carrots, Hatch diced green chilis. Excellent meal in a pot. Gluten free. Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Not Dirty Rice - Missing 4 KEY ingredients. and was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States