Ann's Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Good basic recipe that can be tweaked with extra ingredients. Perfect for a quick fix meal. I used 1 pkg boil in the bag brown rice (just dumped the dry rice in there) and it turned out perfect. I added a half bag of Baja style corn that had too many peppers and onions for our liking to eat plain. It worked great in this recipe. I also topped with 1/2 bag of shredded cheddar cheese. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Easy, quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I enjoyed making this recipe,but like so many reviewers previously, i too made many adjustments. The recipe is a great foundation for a creative cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Good start but missing a lot. I add ½ pound of andouille Cajun sausage, 2 stalks of celery, a few dashes for Louisiana Hot Sauce, 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce 1 teaspoon of dried parsley. I also saute the rice a little bit with the vegetables, before I add the liquid, to brown it a slight bit. A bay leaf is a nice addition and some thyme too, but not a must have, just adds lots of good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie Tucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
On the pro side, quick, easy and one skillet used. On the con side, I should have added other ingredients (I included mushrooms) as some suggested. Will try again with either tomatoes, celery, corn, or beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I loved this and so did my husband who's not that into rice! I made a few modifications though, I added some chilli powder and oil and one chopped Serrano pepper to the ground beef mix when sautéing. I also added some spicy beef sausage cut up of course before adding rice. It made it spicy and full of flavor. LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Delicious and so simple. Substituted cajun seasoning for the seasoned salt and added some shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I am leader of 4-H gourmet club in New Jersey and all the kids just loved it. The best part was it was gluten free and so everyone was able to eat it. We followed the directions and it was a nice side dish with the gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleAndrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I love this dish and tonight I decided to substitute rice with quinoa and it turned out great too. I also like to add some Cholula sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Easy to modify and make vegan! I added black been instead of beef and a veggie stock. Guest were impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States