Ann's Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe that my mother used to make also. It was one of those family favorites and a staple in our home. The only difference was that she didn't put in the bell peppers but did add some garlic. Also she sometimes added chopped tomatoes too. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is a good base recipe, easy to work with and make the way you want. I added a can of red beans, some garlic powder, Adobo seasoning and a couple of dashes of cayenne. I also used brown rice instead of white. Very easy and inexpensive! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
We really enjoyed this one skillet meal! It's a great versatile recipe! I only had 1/2 a red bell pepper, so I added chopped carrots and some frozen kernel corn to make up for it. I added spices like cayenne pepper, oregano, & paprika for additional flavor. I also substituted beef broth for the bouillon granules & water. I used 1/2 cup of the beef broth to simmer with the browned beef & veggies while I cooked the rice separately in 1 1/2 cups of the beef broth, then added the rice to the skillet at the end so that I didn't end up with overcooked rice. It worked out well! We like to sprinkle some tobasco on top for an extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Amazing! I added garlic + tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great recipe!!! What a quick, easy and budget friendly dish! I didn't have any green or red peppers so I used a can of drained zesty jalapeño diced tomatoes and added water to the liquid to measure just over 2 cups and didn't add any salt since my tomatoes were seasoned. I will make with peppers this summer when I can pick them fresh out of my garden. I am definitely adding this to my normal dinner rotation! Thanks Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToriAthensGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BWOOD19
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Made exactly as stated. I loved it, hubby said I can make it again (high praise!). Very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BWOOD19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was a very easy, tasty last minute meal to throw together. I didn't use the peppers as I didn't have any on hand. I added a can of Rotel at the advice of others, which added a nice kick. The seasoning was very good. I added a little ketchup to my 2 year old's plate and he gobbled it up. Will def make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMM2000

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I think that your concept, and the way you presented your recipe is fool-proof! Most of us are pretty seasoned home cooks, and know that ANY recipe can be modified, so I won't bother insulting you...because you already mentioned that iy can be changed up. My family calls any recipe like this a "goulash". (Rice goulash, potato goulash, noodle goulash) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Leave out the green bellpeppers and use as a stuffing for bellpeppers ... yummy ... simply make ... stuff bellpeppers ... and bake with a little water/wine in the bottom of the pan ... add grated cheese on top ... or perhaps little pieces of bacon ... serve with a substantial salad ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States