Ann's Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Pretty good. The only issue I had was it was slightly bland and like another reviewer stated a little soupy. I used instant rice which requires 1 cup of water per 1 cup of rice but I followed the recipe for 2 cups of water. Will definitely make again adding more spices and with less water since it was a quick and overall good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was a good simple meal and I needed to use up a bunch of peppers. I used Yellow pepper along with the green and red. I Only gave it four stars becuase I made it as written and I think It would have been much better if I made the rice seperate and then added it to the cooked meat and peppers. I think it lost alot of its natural flavor and made it too soupy to do it all in one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by Ms. Ho
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Made some modifications: 4 cups long grain white rice, 8 cups chicken stock, 3 tablespoons vegetable oil, 1lb ground kobe beef, sliced beef kielbasa, 2 cloves minced garlic, 1 large diced red onion, 2 stalk celery diced, 1 diced yellow bell pepper, 1 diced red bell pepper, cayenne pepper to taste, 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley leaves, Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Ho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Hallalujah! Somebody that knows how to make dirty rice from scratch without using a dirty rice mix!!! Thank you! I'd add Garlic Powder and Parsley flakes to this recipe to make it a 5 star dish, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Use a little bit of sausage for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was a great meal, it was quick to make and easy as well. Leftovers were good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
What a simple, flavorful. easy to make meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This recipe is one my husband's favorite meals. Thanks for sharing it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azdiamond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Love this recipe for a quick dinner option. I've made it several times and it's always amazing. Even better heated up the next day served on bread and butter. Yum. Thanks Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was fairly quick and very very easy. Great flavor too. I used onion powder and didn't have any red pepper and only a little frozen green pepper so I added a half tsp of cajun seasoning and a pinch of cayenne instead of salt. I used ground round and didn't drain the grease as there wasn't much and added the rice in and let it cook dry for a couple of minutes before adding the water. This was really good and handy for a weeknight meal without much fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States