Ann's Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Mmmm! This recipe is now added to our permanent menu! I don't know why I haven't made it before...easy and tasty. I've recently switched to grass fed beef, so I used less meat ( @ .7 lb) and added pinto beans, a little corn and a can of Rotel. We ate this for 3 days (two dinners, one lunch) and it was great at each meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I didn't have red peppers. i used only green peppers and the onion. It was easy and this is a receipe I forgot about. When I was a child, my mother prepared the dirty rice. It also tastes better than the Zataran's version in the box. SORRY!!!:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was really good and really easy to make. I love the fact it is a one pot dish. It could have used just a bit more kick. I might add something for that next time. Will probably be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this recipe for the first time tonight with excellent results. The changes I made were to use ground turkey breast instead of beef and I also added ketchup for a finishing touch that made it a very good meal that will keep me going throughout the week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheerios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delicious. Didn't have boullion, so just threw a bunch of spices in there and it was great. Easy and quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Loved this dish! Really easy to taylor to our specific desires. I didn't have green nor red pepper, so I just added some corn and green beans, let simmer a few moments, then added about 1 cup cheddar cheese on top. Winner! So good, the KIDS asked me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Author Amanda
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
For all of those of us who live in terror, wondering what to feed the next wave of marauding hordes who come to lay waste to the kitchen contents, this is a life-saving recipe. I make it in triple batches and freeze it for brown bag lunches, quick snacks or on the go dinners. I add lots of things: Diced jalapenos, spinach, peas, corn, scrambled eggs, cilantro... whatever I have, need to use up and which I intuitively determine will taste good. The point is I gotta feed the boys and I gotta do it on a budget and I gotta do it so they're well-nourished and, many times, have to take care of it themselves. This fits the bill in all those categories. If you're going to build up the volume of the meal, be sure you adjust the seasonings, which is why I made note about the jalapenos and cilantro. I usually add more onions and some garlic and only a little bouillon, only because of the salt content. Very tasty, very easy, and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I love it. I substituted the ground beef for ground turkey... It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This recipe was a huge success at my house. The hubby loved it!! I made a few changes based on the reviews that I read: I added a some garlic to the hambuger, replaced the peppers with a can of rotel tomatos and a can of corn, and replaced the bouillon and water with 2 cups of beef broth. All in all, a very simple recipe that makes a satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fishinglady48

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I only rated this 3 stars out of kindness....where is the spice? and the salt level was too high. why no use low sodium beef broth instead? Next issue...where is the heat? this is a cajan recipe...no fire no sizzle, and lastly dirty rice is made with ground chicken livers, they give it a unique flavor. On the upside this makes a pretty good one pot ground beef recipe. Please change to low sodium granules or beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States