Annie's Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This is the best recipe for lobster bisque! I made a few subs out of necessity. 1. I used 1 cup of sherry because I was out of white wine and 2. I used 2.5 C heavy cream and 2.5 cups whole mild to make it creamier. I also left out the green onion because I forgot to buy it. This is the closest I've ever come to recreating true bisque like you find in New England - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
We liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly, against my better judgement. Lobster bisque is one of my favorites but I didn't care for the worchestire sauce flavor. Next time I will omit and hopefully have a better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I read all the recipes available here and this one sounded the best. Needless to say it did not disappoint!!! I actually was going to make it with just lobster shells (add to the simmering onions and let sit with the reduction until bright red) but tails were so cheap at 5.99 a piece I bought two and got more than enough for serious lobster flavor. First of all, I sauteed with butter instead of olive oil, I love butter and use it whenever I can. I used shallots instead of green onion and added minced garlic and white pepper in addition to the suggested spices. It turned out wonderfully and I served it to my family first; my father who doesn't care for lobster ate 3 bowls. I served the bisque in toasted sourdough rounds (breadbowls). I will absolutely make this again, next time with crab, I think!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
DELISH!!! I did not have white wine so I used Stella Artois beer: 1/2 cup. I used just a PINCH of the cayenne pepper and it produced a wonderful heat that complemented the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Fantastic! I did make a few changes though. I substituted a cup of milk for heavy cream and omitted the cayenne but doubled the Old Bay. This is the second time I have made it and my boyfriend loves it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Love this recipe and so does everyone I've served it to. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Very good! I added a half teaspoon of crushed garlic and used one lobster tail after scraping the skin off of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Everyone I've ever made this for absolutely loves it!! Although they disagree about how much cayenne it needs. I think it's perfect they way it is written except I usually add the tomato paste after all the other liquid ingredients are in and then just let it dissolve on it's own. The suggestions of others are also quite good and make a nice variation. I think iluvpastry might have misread the directions about the tomato paste and added the whole can because the 1/2 of a small can seems to me to give it just the right color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I did alter it a bit...added carrots and celery...and instead of all milk I used equal parts heavy cream and milk. I made this recipe for 20. We used 5 large broiled lobster tails instead of claws....asparagus and cheddar garlic drop biscuits to complete our Christmas Eve brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States