Annie's Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was awesome! Not difficult to make and absolutely delicious. Honestly, I have never had better seafood bisque than this one. I made a few very slight changes, but I seriously doubt they made much difference. Instead of all lobster, I used one lobster tail, several very large scallops cut into fourths, and about 4 very large shrimp, chopped. I used 2 ½ cups fat free milk and 2 ½ cups half and half, and I used a nice drinking sherry, not cooking sherry. The seafood and milk changes were simply because that is what I had on hand. But, I never use cooking sherry, as it is so salty. As it turned out, I did have to add some salt to the bisque, but at least I was able to control it. So after all, the cooking sherry might work fine. I served the bisque with a simple green salad and crusty bread. My husband commented that it was wonderful, and wants me to make it for company soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Fate was against me as I made this recipe - my grocery had no lobster, I got crab legs instead and they were bad! So, I ended up with two cans of chunk crab meat - and it was still great! A lovely, heart-warming recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This soup is delicious. I had scallops I had to use - so I guess I would call my version "Scallops Bisgue". The scallops were very large so I cut them in quarters. I used 2% milk - and it was fine. I also added 4 cloves of minced garlic. I didn't pay attention to the comment about the cayenne pepper - "add to taste". I just put it all in and wow - yes, gives it a lot of kick - so be careful! It was actually very good though! I didn't have scallions - so I just did without, but I think the scallions would have made it that much better. SO I will be making again and again and next will try with Lobster. BUT any seafood would be delicious. Its such a great base for a seafood bisque. Thanks for such wonderful recipe! UPDATE: made this again and this time used scallops and canned crabmeat. Forgot about the kick of the cayenne pepper and added it all. Next time I think I will leave the pepper out as 2 family members wouldn't eat it because of the spice. I figure you can add cayenne to your own taste, but once its in there - its in there - so better off leaving out. This time I also tried with 4 Cups of Fat Free Milk and 1 Cup of half and half and didn't even notice that it was lower in fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Wonderful Bisque! I have made this recipe several times. Followed directions exactly, came out perfect and have varied a little and came out perfect. Some of my variations: I used fish stock once instead of Chicken both, butter instead of olive oil and used shrimp and crab meat instead of lobster. I have a pot of this on my stove as I type :) Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I read all the recipes available here and this one sounded the best. Needless to say it did not disappoint!!! I actually was going to make it with just lobster shells (add to the simmering onions and let sit with the reduction until bright red) but tails were so cheap at 5.99 a piece I bought two and got more than enough for serious lobster flavor. First of all, I sauteed with butter instead of olive oil, I love butter and use it whenever I can. I used shallots instead of green onion and added minced garlic and white pepper in addition to the suggested spices. It turned out wonderfully and I served it to my family first; my father who doesn't care for lobster ate 3 bowls. I served the bisque in toasted sourdough rounds (breadbowls). I will absolutely make this again, next time with crab, I think!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I did alter it a bit...added carrots and celery...and instead of all milk I used equal parts heavy cream and milk. I made this recipe for 20. We used 5 large broiled lobster tails instead of claws....asparagus and cheddar garlic drop biscuits to complete our Christmas Eve brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
this is a great recipe, I used shallots instead of the onions and added half and half instead of the milk. I had lobster and wanted to try a good recipe. This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
We liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
DELISH!!! I did not have white wine so I used Stella Artois beer: 1/2 cup. I used just a PINCH of the cayenne pepper and it produced a wonderful heat that complemented the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
i had to tweak this recipe a lot but i still found that i didn't achieve the taste i was going for. i used lobster broth instead of chicken stock but still found it to be slightly bland and a little too milky. i'm still searching for the perfect lobster bisque after trying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aspiringepicurista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States