Annie's Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Fate was against me as I made this recipe - my grocery had no lobster, I got crab legs instead and they were bad! So, I ended up with two cans of chunk crab meat - and it was still great! A lovely, heart-warming recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This soup is delicious. I had scallops I had to use - so I guess I would call my version "Scallops Bisgue". The scallops were very large so I cut them in quarters. I used 2% milk - and it was fine. I also added 4 cloves of minced garlic. I didn't pay attention to the comment about the cayenne pepper - "add to taste". I just put it all in and wow - yes, gives it a lot of kick - so be careful! It was actually very good though! I didn't have scallions - so I just did without, but I think the scallions would have made it that much better. SO I will be making again and again and next will try with Lobster. BUT any seafood would be delicious. Its such a great base for a seafood bisque. Thanks for such wonderful recipe! UPDATE: made this again and this time used scallops and canned crabmeat. Forgot about the kick of the cayenne pepper and added it all. Next time I think I will leave the pepper out as 2 family members wouldn't eat it because of the spice. I figure you can add cayenne to your own taste, but once its in there - its in there - so better off leaving out. This time I also tried with 4 Cups of Fat Free Milk and 1 Cup of half and half and didn't even notice that it was lower in fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: East Greenbush, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was awesome! Not difficult to make and absolutely delicious. Honestly, I have never had better seafood bisque than this one. I made a few very slight changes, but I seriously doubt they made much difference. Instead of all lobster, I used one lobster tail, several very large scallops cut into fourths, and about 4 very large shrimp, chopped. I used 2 ½ cups fat free milk and 2 ½ cups half and half, and I used a nice drinking sherry, not cooking sherry. The seafood and milk changes were simply because that is what I had on hand. But, I never use cooking sherry, as it is so salty. As it turned out, I did have to add some salt to the bisque, but at least I was able to control it. So after all, the cooking sherry might work fine. I served the bisque with a simple green salad and crusty bread. My husband commented that it was wonderful, and wants me to make it for company soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
this is a great recipe, I used shallots instead of the onions and added half and half instead of the milk. I had lobster and wanted to try a good recipe. This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Waaaay too much tomato paste. What a waste pf good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I did alter it a bit...added carrots and celery...and instead of all milk I used equal parts heavy cream and milk. I made this recipe for 20. We used 5 large broiled lobster tails instead of claws....asparagus and cheddar garlic drop biscuits to complete our Christmas Eve brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Everyone I've ever made this for absolutely loves it!! Although they disagree about how much cayenne it needs. I think it's perfect they way it is written except I usually add the tomato paste after all the other liquid ingredients are in and then just let it dissolve on it's own. The suggestions of others are also quite good and make a nice variation. I think iluvpastry might have misread the directions about the tomato paste and added the whole can because the 1/2 of a small can seems to me to give it just the right color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Very good! I added a half teaspoon of crushed garlic and used one lobster tail after scraping the skin off of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Love this recipe and so does everyone I've served it to. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Fantastic! I did make a few changes though. I substituted a cup of milk for heavy cream and omitted the cayenne but doubled the Old Bay. This is the second time I have made it and my boyfriend loves it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States