Annie's Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Used 5 tbs butter instead of olive oil. Used lump crab meat, claw crab meat, and lobster pieces. Doubled the Cayenne Pepper. Used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk. Might want to consider adding additional flour if you want it thicker, but using the suggested amounts seemed to be fairly thick. Had a great taste and a bit of a zing. Served in bread bowls, which was great (very filling!) and also toasted the inside pieces from the bread bowl and used as a "cracker substitute". Thoroughly enjoyed! Don't be afraid to add your own touch to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This soup is every bit as good as the indulgent version you will find at a restaurant. I'll cut back on the cayenne next time, but other than that, it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Very good. Will use less tomato paste next time. I used 4 cups of half and half instead of milk and lobster tails instead of claws. Added instant potato buds to thicken it up as we prefer a thicker chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Was so-so. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This has become one of my regular dishes. Easy and delish. Works beautifully with canned crab as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsJuliaGulia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This is just awful. It tasted like an onion/tomato broth. Not at all like a restaurant style bisque. Wasted a lot of money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Delicious!! My first try at making lobster bisque and it came out great - easy to make, too. I used 3 lobster tails - sauteed them in the onions until onions were translucent, removed tails and set aside. Then I added the tails back in once the milk, broth, and seasonings were added and let them simmer in the bisque for ~10 minutes (used meat thermometer to test - 145 degrees was perfect - thoroughly cooked but very tender). I removed the tails and let the bisque continue to simmer for 5 mores minutes while I removed the shells and cut the lobster into bite-sized chunks. I omitted the cayenne pepper because I do not like spice but think I may add a tiny pinch next time. Will also try shallots instead of white onions next time, too (just because I love shallots). Great recipe as is! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I absolutly loved this recipe! I did make some adjustments because of what I had in my kitchen but it turned out beautifully. I had quests over and one of them literally had four bowls of this. Plus I got a call the next day from two of the other guests to get the recipe. My adjustments were: I used 4 cups of whipping cream and the rest regular milk. I added garlic to the onions when sauteing and I used a whole can of tomato paste instead of half. I also added some crab meat to bulk up the seafood factor. I will definitly be making this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Made this on Christmas day durning all the hubub I put in the whole can of tomatoe paste. It didnt matter it came out great!I also used 2 cups half and half ,3 milk....next time I might add more 1/2 & 1/2 or even some cream.You might as well go whole hog its.... Lobster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pepperell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Absolutely YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States