Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
While I enjoyed this, I wasn't as wowed as I hoped to be. My husband hates fruit, so I made a half batch of this for myself. Despite others warning to avoid adding sugar, I did anyways - and I'm glad I did. My fruit must have been super tart or else I'm a TOTAL sweet tooth because even with it (and 1 1/2 T peach preserves), my salsa wasn't sweet enough for my liking. My chips were also only mildly sweet. The real disappointment however, is that this doesn't keep well AT ALL. You really need to eat this in one sitting, which is why it's perfect for parties (but even then, this will start looking pretty dull the longer it sits). All said and done, this was fun to try but nothing to write home about (sorry!). Thanks anyways, Annie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Perfect! Nothing else to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Delicious and refreshing! I used raspberries, strawberries, 1 fuji apple, frozen peaches, and 2 kiwi. I used peach preserves and skipped the sugar altogether and everyone loved it. I set it outside to keep cool and it accidentally got slushy frozen in our cold temps and I think the cold consistency made it even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this for a pot luck party and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Made this for a Christmas party . Huge hit !! Everyone loved it. I used cherry preserves and made the chips the day before .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
The fruit salsa is delicious but the cinnamon chips are not nearly what I expected. I have made the salsa many times and it is always a hit, I use store bought cinnamon pita chips now. The first time I made the salsa it was a little mushy when I made it the night before. The other times I made it I bought strawberries and kiwis that were firmer and cut them into bigger pieces so they didn't break down as much and it was perfect. The salsa definitely gets 5 stars but the chips get a 3 at most. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Make this quite often for a dance I go to and everyone loves it! Now trying to figure out how to make it and bring to a get together miles away, like I'm doing a road trip to Florida from NH and would love to bring it with me to serve at a party I'm helping to plan. No worries about the berries, they just need a cooler. The chips not too sure about and not sure I can make them in a motel room even if it's a kitchenette type room. Nor do I want to transport cookie sheets. Would like to make everything in NH and have it be still crispy and delicious at least 2 days later possibly 3, 4 or more days. Guess the most important thing is to do the oven work baking the chips in NH. Any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Amazing! And you can use whatever fruit combination you want for the salsa. My preference is apples, bananas, kiwi, and strawberries with a little grape jelly mixed in. The chips and salsa are always a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I made mine gluten free and mostly sugar free. I used gluten free tortillas, sugar-free marmalade and whatever fruits I felt like using. I added one packet of Stevia. These were delicious and I make them almost every weekend now for football games!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I used nectarines, kiwi, and strawberries. With all citrus fruit, I wouldn't have to worry about browning. I only used my favorite raspberry preserves. Not very sweet, but that may depend on your fruit. I think I would prefer a much richer base, like adding raspberry pie filling, but this way it makes it a light dessert. Now with the chips: If the chips aren't good, nothing is good! Ladies, this is when you want to use your convection function on your oven if you have one! I convection baked at 350 for 7 min, turned, and 4 min. max! You don't want to over-bake as well as under-bake. I noticed if the chip is crispy around the edges, but slightly soft in the center, it WILL harden up later. The sugars harden and it turns out nicely. I sprayed both sides of a whole bag of small 12 tortillas, and stacked them and cut them with a pizza cutter. Then threw them all in a bag filled with 1C sugar and 1T cinnamon. It coated evenly and everyone was happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States