Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This fruit salsa is very good, but I advise against making it up too much ahead of time. The chopping, and then the refrigeration of the fruit change the look and texture...Ie...after a while it no longer looks "fresh" but starts to breakdown and get soft. I will make this again but only allow minimal refrigeration time. I used seedless red raspberry preserves and thought that was a nice addition to kind of pull the fruit blend together. I did not use any extra sugar since my fruit was wonderfully sweet. I also chose not to use apples since I didn't want the crunch of one fruit mixed into the softness of the other fruits. Personal preference! I chose to use the Stacy cinnamon and sugar pita chips but I won't do that again, They are too thick, and I thought that they overpowered the lightness of the fruit. I will either make my own chips as the recipe suggests or find another option to dip the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This recipe is great. I've made this a few times and it always comes out well. My mother is allergic to raspberries so I use blueberries instead. Works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Hooff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I have enjoyed this recipe foe many years. I prefer to use stone fruits (because they don't get messy as fast) to the softer fruits. I don't use the full amount of sugar and I always make the chips. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was delicious! I made a few changes after reading some of the reviews... First, we used Fuji apples instead of Golden Delicious, because they don't brown as quickly. I also used 4 oz. raspberries and 4 oz. peaches (instead of just 8 oz. raspberries.) I used orange marmalade for the preserves. I would cut the sugar in half (it was quite sweet.) For the chips, I simply sprayed both sides of the tortilla, and then I sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top. (I did NOT spray it again.) Then I baked them at 350 degrees for 10 minutes, turning the pan around halfway through baking so that the ones in the back of the oven didn't brown too quickly. Delicious, but because of the few changes I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarcook368

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a fantastic salsa. All the ladies at the party repeated over and over "this is to die for!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
It had too much sugar. Maybe if I readjust the amount then it should taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is a phenomenal recipe! So simple and so tasty! I'm always looking for simple throw-together appetizers to serve at home party get togethers (like 31 Bag parties or Partylite parties). This fits the bill! At first I cut the tortillas in wedges before spraying, but then I got wise and followed the other reviewers suggestions and sprayed both sides of the whole tortilla with cooking spray, then dredged both sides in cinnamon-sugar. I put my cinnamon sugar in a pie pan and that worked really well for dredging the tortillas. I found that 8-9 minutes was the perfect timing for the chips. The salsa was delish too! I didn't add any sugar and used my homemade strawberry jam as the preserves. My kids especially loved this dish! It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMadeWaffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Otsego, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Really yummy! Adding vanilla ice cream to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I loved this! It's a great snack that goes a long way. The only thing I changed was that I left out putting the sugar and brown sugar in with the fruit. Only added the cinnamon sugar to tortilla chips. And I used strawberry preserves it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I added pear preserves and a 1/4 tsp of chipotle red pepper and it gave it a kick! I used cinnamon sugar pita chips store bought. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States