Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
This recipe is a hit no matter how I make it (sometimes I chop up bananas, oranges, etc., to add). Because I think it is healthier, I spritz the tortillas with water instead of the cooking spray. It works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
i like to do most of the prep for a party ahead of time - you cannot do that with this recipe, hence the 4 star rating. Plus it doesn't keep well, AND the chopping is time consuming. It is delicious as written - but is also tremendously flexible, which I love. Depending upon where (and to whom) it is being served, I might add a splash of orange or blackberry liquor. Toss in a few blackberries or blueberries. I use less sugar, and a little more jam. I might add a leaf of mint. (Remove before serving, and don't add too much!) Change anything you want to make it your own - or keep it exact. Delicious however. I alway chop the fruit into tiny pieces. Tiny. Tiny. The liquid it releases then becomes a part of the salsa, and you don't have fruit salad drowning in its' own juice. I serve it with a small spoon, rather than trying to 'dip' the chips. Also use packaged cinnamon sugar pita chips or bagel rounds, they go fast! If there is any left - serve it over cheesecake, ice cream, or use as an accent for strawberry shortcake. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Super-delicious summer side/appetizer! The chips are to die for and definitely make this dish extra special. We like ours less chunky, so I use the food processor for a more salsa-like consistency. I highly recommend blackberries in place of the raspberries and I usually eliminate the apple. My whole family LOVES it...and then I use the leftover salsa in muffins for a delicious breakfast treat! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha Marie
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Awesome!! Super easy to make! Excellent for a snack anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I do not like eating fruit. I only like unripe sort of fruit, which is rare to find at just the right degree of ripeness (I don't like mooshy, I don't like citrus..) So, I planned to make this for 4th of July, for others, because the picture that use to be up was very pretty. I made this with a variety of fruits, and I cubed them all about 1/4" each, then halved blueberries. I used orange preserve, let it soak overnight, lazily grabbed a bag of pita cinnamon & sugar chips & called it a day. Because I have to try it before serving, I tried it. Oh, my, goodness. I actually liked....no....LOVED it. I have never said I loved anything fruit, unless it's cherry ice cream, which isn't really fruit at all, as much as I pretend! This was gone in a matter of minutes at the cookout, and I have made it several times with a variety of fruits available, but always strawberry and kiwi and orange preserve. Try it, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barlow Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This is a great and forgiving recipe. You can easily add or substitute whatever fruits you have on hand. I used a whole wheat tortilla, substituted honey and real maple syrup for the sugars and cut the amount in half, as my husband Picky Philly as been ordered by his doc. I modified it to low sugar, low carb, higher fiber, and fat free and still got a 5 star Picky Philly rating. AMAZING given Picky Philly is fruit and vegetable adverse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Wood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I made this for the Super Bowl this year and everyone LOVED it. It was fresh tasting and light - not super sweet, and a perfect foil for the heavier foods that were served. Really good; I highly recommend and I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This was tasty, but too sweet for us. I would skip the added sugar in the fruit. The chips were on the bland side. If I made this again I would experiment with the chips and come up with something different, perhaps something crunchier. I had lots of leftover, and it did stay fresh tasting until the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This recipe is to die for. love the fruit salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I made this exactly as is and my chips were soft, soggy. I cooked another batch longer and got crispy chips but it was difficult to eat. The salsa was tasty and the idea is great. I'll try again with some adjustments, chips at a higher temp and flipping the chips, or cook with a deep fryer to get crisp. Fruit cut in tiny pieces in a viscous syrup might be the key to keeping it on the chip all the way to the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Low-Cal Salmon and Fruit Salsa Dinner

Enjoy fresh salmon with tangy fruit salsa, an elegant 600-calorie meal.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States