Anne's Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I have been making potato pancakes for YEARS and I always put my shredded potatos in a clean dishcloth and give them a good wringing before I add the eggs and such...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheepy
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
My red potatoes gave off a lot of liquid after shredding & I can't imagine adding 3 eggs to this. I only used one egg & still had to add at least twice the amount of flour called for. I should've used my common sense & squeezed the moisture out of the potatoes instead of trying to compensate by adding extra flour to a terribly soupy mixture. They didn't turn out bad but I could've saved myself some time & energy if I would've just trusted my own cooking skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
This was good, but there was nothing overly special about it. Point to remember~ some spuds have more moisture than others. If you don't use the reds in the recipe, you may need to adjust the amount of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hernight2cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This recipe is definitely a keeper! Best potato pancakes I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This is a great recipe! I LOVE the fact that I didn't have to peel or precook the potatoes. The only change I made was using green onions because that's all I had on had. I'm keeping this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Best potato pancakes I've ever made! Even my super-picky 5-year-old couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I made this recipe exactly and I found the lime juice too strong. I would eliminate this in future as there was already enough liquid from the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This was a great recipe. So much flavor! And very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Made these for dinner last night and loved it! I have never had potato pancakes before and was very thrilled with the result. I chose 4 stars only because I thought there was too much salt. 1 tblsp is a lot, next time I'll use less. I also added some Italian blend cheese and deli meat. I followed the advice of another reviewer and wrang out the potatoes in some cheese cloth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
The rest of the family enjoyed them, but I found them much too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States