Anne's Homemade Chorizo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Awesome recipe. I don't like the store bought stuff as I'm not fond of snouts and other random stuff that is typically inside (ie gristle and gross bits lol) but this chorizo is wonderful. Keeps a very long time. My husband is in seventh heaven when I take the time to make this for him (which will be again this weekend!). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCYFROG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Excellent in Burritos. AND Easy Didn't have wine so I seasoned to taste and added a couple of chopped Pablano onions I happened to have. Good with or without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammy Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Excellent recipe! Will definitely making this again! We're taking this camping in a couple of weeks and can't wait to try it out on open flame!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Great recipe, but I use all ground pork in mine. Also make sure you use Mexican Oregano and not the Mediterranean variety. Great to put on lightly toasted corn tortillas with cilantro and salsa. Also good on nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe! It comes out perfect every time. When I make chorizo, this is the recipe I use (all beef, however). Throw it all in the stand mixer on low for a few minutes and it gets the perfect consistency. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I think this is great we love chorizo and egg.Now I'll always have it on hand.Thanks Iris Lady
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iris Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Love this. I am on a low fat, low salt diet and this is one of the best tasting things on my menu. I use 1 LB of ground turkey 93/7 for the 4 serving recipe. I omit the salt, omit the wine, add 2 egg whites. I stir fry it and add an egg white . I serve it with griddle heated corn tortillas and homemade salsa. It's a great meal any time of day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Haven't made this yet, so I will not rate it. I will have to make this during this weekend. I love chorizo and am very happy to have found a recipe that does not involve having to go out and get expensive equipment. I will try to make it using tequilla instead of the wine because it actively kills any bacteria that may be borne during the 2-3 days needed during mixing process. Other than that, I will try to stick to the original recipe. I'll tell you later how this turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I just want to say for those of you who put wine in chorizo, this is not "real Mexican chorizo" . I have always made my own "real Mexican chorizo" ground beef, chicken version, and vegetarian version for the past 30 years, but I never come across one with "wine". Well I tried it and my culture do not put alcohol in chorizo. I would leave out the wine, add chili flakes or cayenne to the vegetarian version. You're getting the "real Mexican" version this way. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
you might think i'm nutso but i made a vegetarian version of this which was amazing! i let all the seasonings get well acquainted in the fridge for a few hours before i mixed it up with my veggie burger recipe since that is designed for same day munching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Tortilla Chorizo Scramble

See how to make a Mexican-style sausage and egg scramble.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States