Annemarie's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
These are wonderful lemon bars! After reading some reviews about too little lemon filling, I made a couple adjustments. I kept the crust the same but pressed it into a 9x9 pan and baked for 10 minutes. Then I increased the lemon filling to 1 1/2 times the amount in the recipe. This gave me the perfect ratio of crust and filling! Perfect balance of sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I've been making these for about 6 years from this recipe. They are so delicious. I always make four batches. I use two batches in a 9 x 12 pan and they are just right. Everyone requests them and they get eaten up fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rocks
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Even my boyfriend who doesn't like sweets kept raving about this one. I did have to add about an extra tablespoon of butter into the crust. Also, when I was looking over the recipe it didn't look like there would be enough filling so I changed the serving size to 24 (original recipe makes 16). So - leave the crust measurements the same and multiply the filling measurements by 1.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These were and are wonderful! I'm actually eating one right now as I type this! I have made these Lemon Bars a few times now and love the outcome...I'm completely addicted! lol I did change a few things to make it more to my liking. For instance, I baked the shortbread like crust for 15 mins instead of the 20 the recipe called for. I also added WAY more lemon juice...about 1/4 cup actually. :) My husband and I decided that we wanted more lemon taste. Thanks for a GREAT recipe that I will make all the time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Bateman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
These were fantastic! I had several lemon bar recipes to try, and I chose these specifically because some reviewers said there was not enough filling. I like more crust than filling (I must be the only one!), but no one else complained that there was not enough filling. The crust was nice and thick, and had a great shortbread taste. The filling is not too sweet, and had a perfect amount of lemon flavor. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
While these did turn out okay, it's definitely not was I was looking for. It makes a really thin bar, I wanted something thicker. It tastes fine, but I will never make again, or if I do, I will triple the filling. THOROUGLY DISAPPOINTED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I have been baking for many years, and this is the BEST lemon bar recipe I have ever come across. I would suggest cooking the crust for five minutes less than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNONJ77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I made this for a bake sale, and they were snapped up! Delicious taste! I cut the sugar in half and added some more lemon juice since I have a "sour" tooth. Overall, mouth-watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe and it was amazing! Its a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I made this recipe, but found there was not enough filling. The filling did not have enough lemon flavor as well. Although, they did come out tasting okay. Next time if I make them I will double the filling and add more lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States