Annemarie's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by chinachewy
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was an awesome recipe and a great hit at work. Some things to keep in mind: I mixed the flour, sugar and butter together on a chopping board with my hands, squeezing the mixture together. I then put the crust in the square pan and pressed firm. I noticed the edges were more crumbly than the middle, so I brushed it to the center and pressed to the edges until it was all solid. #2: Don't make the filling too soon. It only takes about 30 seconds to blend, so I had it sitting there for about 20 mins. Wait until about 17 mins after your crust had been baking before you start blending the filling. #3: Also, I didn't have baking powder so I scratched it from the recipe. The lemon bars ended up firmer and easier to cut and eat. Even though there was less filling than the crust, I think adding more filling would make the lemon bar too strong and sweet. The cookie crust helped take away some of the sugar and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chinachewy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I tripled the filling like the others suggested (and baked them for 25 minutes) and they tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I thought the crust was perfect. I also doubled the filling. Next time I will put cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
i love these lemon bars. my sister has never tried them until i cooked them, she said they were great. one problem, i greased the pan, but they were hard to get out and after a couple of days, they got very hard, and you had to heat them up first THEN try to take them out. no problem besides that. I would reccomend this to anyone with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
These are very good but I think they could use more filling. Next time, I'll double the filling. The bars are nice and light - great with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is my new favorite dessert! Doubled the filling, added lemon zest of one lemon to the crust and filling, used 1/2 real lemon juice and 1/2 artificial lemon juice. I can't get enough! *When you zest the lemon, only add the bright yellow. The lighter color underneath will give a bitter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These are superb. I followed some of the other reviewers and doubled the amount of filling while leaving the crust as is. I also baked the crust for 15, instead of 20 minutes. I upped the lemon juice to about 1/2 a cup instead of the 1/3 cup that would be needed when doubling the filling. It made a tart filling which was great with the sweetness of the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
these were very easy to make and a big hit. I think next time I will double the recipe though, there just weren't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This was really good with some tweaking. I followed the suggestions to double the filling & added some zest to both the filling and crust, but I should have used more lemon juice, it just wasn't tart enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Used extra lemon because I like lemon. Perfect amount of filling. No other changes needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norahS

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States