Annemarie's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I like lemon bars with just the right combination of tartness and sweetness, and this is pretty much it! I agree with the other reviewers that one batch of filling was too much crust and not enough filling, so I made one batch crust and two batches of filling. I also added just a 1/2 tablespoon more of lemon juice, plus almost two lemons worth of lemon zest. The zest really adds the "fresh lemon" taste that I was hoping for. I think next time I make this, I will follow another reviewer's suggestion and adds a tablespoon more butter to the crust. Thank you for sharing the recipe, Ingrid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
this is such a easy and yummy recipe! i double the filling bc lik the other reviewer it didnt seem like it was enough, it came out so great. We had to give half it away because we knew we would finish the whole thing in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chengy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This recipe is really great--I've used it twice. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly. My only problem with the bars was that they fell apart. The crust wasn't sturdy enough for the heavy filling on top. The second time, I made the crust wetter so that it baked into a firmer crust, but the filling on top was too wet. If I do it again, I will make the filling stiffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I have never made any lemon bars before, but I'm glad I tried these. After reading others' reviews, I took off 5 minutes of bake time for the crust and doubled the filling amounts. After having a bit of an issue getting the filling to set (I had to cook it a bit longer than instructed due to, I think, the extra filling), I was able to enjoy this delightfully sweet, yet tart dessert. It was a hit at our Cinco de Mayo party--a great way to curb the "burn" off all the spices! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is the perfect Lemon Bar recipe! Easy, light - WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eloy, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
dry and not tart at all. 'must've done something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
yum, yum! I have high standards when it comes to lemon bars, and these definitely surpassed the benchmark. I added just a touch more lemon juice after reading other reviews. I found that the crust to lemon filling ratio was 1:1. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajarrett09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made these for easter. I only changed the recipe by adding a little lemon zest. It had rave reviews at both family parties. The crust was kind of thick but I'm not sure if that is normal for lemon bars. I will make again because it was so super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJoMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I JUST made these! and they are delicious. The crust DOES taste like shortbread cookie but It works! Here are my add ins... For the CRUST: I added lemon zest of one lemon, 1 tsp of vanilla and a pinch of salt. Also, because the reviews cautioned about too much crust for the filling I did not use the eniter thing, instead I used the remainder as a topping (like crumb topping) Baked that for ONLY 15 minutes though. FILLING: I added 6 Tbsp. of lemon juice and lemon zest of one lemon (could have done two). added the filling to the crust and baked for an additional 20 minutes. AND because i read there was an issue with the filling not setting, after the 20 minutes bake time I turned off the oven left the door open and let it cool in the oven. Other than that it was a DELICIOUS bar : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
These turned out great. I made a few changes as I didn't have lemon, only lime. I also doubled the filling because when I poured the first batch over the crust, it just wasn't enough. Had to bake it a little longer but it worked out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States