Anna's German Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
what is the last cup of flour on the recipe used for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
These were not good at all. My family wouldn't even eat them and I thought my husband would eat anything! Maybe to many eggs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
These were great! I made chicken dumpling soup and it was so tasty. For the soup I used water, chicken bullion, chicken soup base, carrots, green beans, corn, chicken breast and sage, sweet basil leaf and pepper to flavor. I boiled about 5 min. longer with the lid on- make sure you do not peek at your dumplings while they are cooking with the lid on- they will turn out better. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I am German, actually born in Germany, and I never heard of dumplings made this way. They weren't very good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These are wonderful dumplings. I followed the recipe exactly making no changes. I make these for my husband who loves dumplings. They are good with soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I am giving this a four stars for texture,which was very good and light, however I am questioning why the flour measure for the cup is listed twice? I did not need the second measure of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
These are great!! My grandmother is from Germany and these are exactly the same as hers! I just couldn't remember the recipe...or find it for that matter. She pretty much kept her recipe box in her head and now she's gone, so here I am searching! Anyway...as another poster said, this does make a good portion of dumplings. (Or maybe just a few really BIG dumplings?) Anyway, I did add 3 tbs. of dried parsley to the dough, and yep! Just like Grandma's!! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivica in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
The ultimate recipe; thx for sharing. I added a few of my own touches (minced onion, parsley flakes and baking powder). This is not saying the recipe is not perfect just the way it it, however, because it is. I also microwave bacon and crumble some in when I want just a little change. I am grateful for you sharing this recipe of your grandmas, Jonell. (Those along with the mom's recipes are the best by far!) Everyone marveled over the Dumplings and they did not last long at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shawna
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Maybe I didn't do it right. I don't know what kind of flour I had. I live in China so I can't just ask is this all purpose? I mean i get it from a big open bin at the supermarket. All I can tell you is its white and doesn't have dried fruit in it. Anyhow I need to find something that works better so I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I just didn't care for the texture of these. They didn't taste bad but I thought they were eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States