Anna's German Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
These are great!! My grandmother is from Germany and these are exactly the same as hers! I just couldn't remember the recipe...or find it for that matter. She pretty much kept her recipe box in her head and now she's gone, so here I am searching! Anyway...as another poster said, this does make a good portion of dumplings. (Or maybe just a few really BIG dumplings?) Anyway, I did add 3 tbs. of dried parsley to the dough, and yep! Just like Grandma's!! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivica in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I too had a German grandmother who added dumplings to soups/stews. I made these up and added the dumplings to the Chicken Stew (Fricot) recipe and the dumplings were a huge hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I had been looking for this dumpling recipe for years!! My mom always made homemade noodles. I knew what I wanted but I couldn't find it. After using this recipe for soup my husband said "looks like you finally found the perfect dumpling"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Amherst, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
My mother,who is German, makes her dumplings this way. The only difference is she adds the german Maggie into the mix and a tiny bit of melted butter. They are amazing. I make them for the soup we have before our Christmas dinner every year and it is always a hit with my husband's family and our friends. If they turn out too eggy or thin you are doing something wrong. I cut this recipe in half for mine and just make smaller dumplings. I then wait until the soup is boiling hot to add the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These were very good, exactly like my grandmother used to make. I used a large 7 quart pot and when I was ready to cook the dumplings, I brought the soup up to a light boil and then dropped the batter into the soup using a cookie scoop. It took a few minutes to do it this way, but it was worth it because I got perfect sized dumplings that did not stick together because one dumpling would cook before another one was dropped in next to it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I just made these, they are great! I had a recipe from my German grandmother and hers couldn't beat these, I have made many types of dumplings and these are by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
what is the last cup of flour on the recipe used for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
The ultimate recipe; thx for sharing. I added a few of my own touches (minced onion, parsley flakes and baking powder). This is not saying the recipe is not perfect just the way it it, however, because it is. I also microwave bacon and crumble some in when I want just a little change. I am grateful for you sharing this recipe of your grandmas, Jonell. (Those along with the mom's recipes are the best by far!) Everyone marveled over the Dumplings and they did not last long at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These are wonderful dumplings. I followed the recipe exactly making no changes. I make these for my husband who loves dumplings. They are good with soups and stews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
These were great! I made chicken dumpling soup and it was so tasty. For the soup I used water, chicken bullion, chicken soup base, carrots, green beans, corn, chicken breast and sage, sweet basil leaf and pepper to flavor. I boiled about 5 min. longer with the lid on- make sure you do not peek at your dumplings while they are cooking with the lid on- they will turn out better. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States