Anna's German Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I really loved these! My grandmother used to make these as well. I did not use the second cup of flour. They turned out perfect! Not sure if the second cup is needed or to be used if you need more because you didn't thicken the mixture enough? The recipe never mentions the second cup. I have made them more than once and even when the dough is more runny when you drop them into the boiling soup all is well! Perfect texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
i used a gluten free flour, because i have gluten intolerance, and they came out fantastic!!! i boiled them in water right next to a pot of cream of chick soup and just plopped them in when they were ready and cooked them the rest of the way in the soup. I also seasoned the mixture with black pepper, paprika, and thyme before i boiled them. so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ksusha Geissel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I recommend using 2 cups of flour, the dough seemed a little runny with only 1 cup. Simmer dumplings until about five minutes after the start to float. These were delicious, the texture was wonderful. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
My mother,who is German, makes her dumplings this way. The only difference is she adds the german Maggie into the mix and a tiny bit of melted butter. They are amazing. I make them for the soup we have before our Christmas dinner every year and it is always a hit with my husband's family and our friends. If they turn out too eggy or thin you are doing something wrong. I cut this recipe in half for mine and just make smaller dumplings. I then wait until the soup is boiling hot to add the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
They were Okay but not worth the effort. I've made better with much less work, time and mess. I never did find what the extra cup of flour was for? Maybe to thicken the dough depending on how big the eggs are?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I just made these, they are great! I had a recipe from my German grandmother and hers couldn't beat these, I have made many types of dumplings and these are by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I am giving this a four stars for texture,which was very good and light, however I am questioning why the flour measure for the cup is listed twice? I did not need the second measure of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
These were very good, exactly like my grandmother used to make. I used a large 7 quart pot and when I was ready to cook the dumplings, I brought the soup up to a light boil and then dropped the batter into the soup using a cookie scoop. It took a few minutes to do it this way, but it was worth it because I got perfect sized dumplings that did not stick together because one dumpling would cook before another one was dropped in next to it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3daisys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I too had a German grandmother who added dumplings to soups/stews. I made these up and added the dumplings to the Chicken Stew (Fricot) recipe and the dumplings were a huge hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
These are great!! My grandmother is from Germany and these are exactly the same as hers! I just couldn't remember the recipe...or find it for that matter. She pretty much kept her recipe box in her head and now she's gone, so here I am searching! Anyway...as another poster said, this does make a good portion of dumplings. (Or maybe just a few really BIG dumplings?) Anyway, I did add 3 tbs. of dried parsley to the dough, and yep! Just like Grandma's!! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivica in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States