Anna's Amazing Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This makes 12 very large (1 1/2 c) servings of incredibly delicious stew. Used ale rather than beer. It is worth buying a beer that has excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This goulash WAS amazing.. and don't skimp by using cheap beer, I snuck on of my husband's micro IPAs to make this.. it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Way too bitter for me and I didn't even add the beer which would have added to the bitterness. Won't be making this again. Gave it a 2 because I liked the idea of the bacon, caraway and paprika. Will try those ingredients again in my normal stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
An amazing dish! You won't find a heartier and more flavorful dinner on a cold winter day. We left out the lamb as I'm not a fan by any stretch but you won't miss it. There so many delicious things and flavors going on! If I would make any change at all, I would use half the red wine vinegar. Thanks for sharing Anna. It's a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Phenomenal! I adjusted the seasonings according to personal preference and omitted the red bell pepper as we aren't big fans. The stew was thick enough so I didn't bother to add the bread crumbs. If I were to make it again, I would leave out the pork (we preferred the lamb and beef by far) and the celery (again, we aren't fans). This was a wonderful meal for a chilly Spring night. It smells amazing while its cooking too. Thanks, Anna - this is now one of my favorite stews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This was lot of work as others have stated but produced some nice complex flavours. I adapted it a little and didn't add the caraway seeds or beer (didn't have any) and only used stew lamb for the meat. I also added some rosemary and W/sauce and tomatoe paste for more tang as I didn't have enough wine vinegar. When serving it we added some sour cream and WOW was it good! I don't usually like too many left overs but I think this one will be a hit. Next time I may half the recipe since I had to use 2 pots by the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Good hearty stew. Made enough for 10 people with leftovers. I made it ahead of time to enhance the flavor as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I threw in noodles instead of bread crumbs for the last 20 min. to soak up the liquid. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Even without the lamb and pork (didn't have either in), and used regular paprika, this was one of the best stews I've had! The beer gives it an interesting, but nice, flavor that is very distinct. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Anna, This recipe is a great base and allows for many variations! Good Job! To readers, absolutely try as is - but then experiment. I use double the tomat's. I do not use the beef broth bc I end up with ton of juice from cooking raw stew meat. Also, try substituting a flavorful sausage instead of the bacon. Thnakx again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States