Anisette Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
made these for a friend and she really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I thought they were not going to be ok because after they were baked, the uncut log(and I use that term loosely as it was flat!) was brown around the edges and it looked SO flat. Nevertheless I kept following the directions and they looked like anisette toast in the end. I had no anise so I used vanilla extract instead and substituted 1/8 cup of light olive oil for the butter as I am watching my saturated fat. Probably a mistake. I will try one more time with no fat and get some anise extract. My husband is suggesting that I dust this batch with cinnamon and sugar as they are kinda blah. Used same number of tsp of vanilla but you can hardly taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Delicious! And... I was able to make it with Pamela's Artisan All Purpose gluten free flour with great success. Also, I used coconut palm sugar instead of white sugar. These came out tasting exactly like the Stella D'oro anisette toast that my mom, sister, and I used to share over cups of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Great recipe, double the Anisette though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Linda!! Absolutely THE best Anise Toasts I've ever made. I love to bake and these were easy to make, great dough to work with and the flavour is phenomenal. I didn't have anise extract so I used 1-1/2 tsps of anise seeds and I sprinkled large sugar on top before baking. FABULOUS...thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I've made them twice in the past week-shared with my mom & some neighbors-they are awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
best anisette cookie I've had!!! Better than any store bought (which aren't bad) Will never buy them again! Thanks for the keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
EXCELLENT! One taste of this dough and I knew I was on the right track. It was so easy to work with. I used a spatula and dipped it in water to smooth the top of the loaf. I was surprised that the instructions didn't say to lower the temperature before the second bake. I didn't and all was fine. Thank you Linda (LMT) for sharing such an EXCELLENT recipe! I will be making this again and doubling the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My mom made these cookies every year but they never looked like the Anisette Toast from the store. I compared the ingredients to my Moms and they were exactly the same, but this recipe explained HOW to lay out the dough. Very easy and they come out just like the picture. Only sorry I didn't DOUBLE the recipe as they disappeared too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States