Anise Seed Borrachio Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
These are really good cookies. I made a batch today. followed the recipe except for modification of the cloves (1/2 tsp cloves to 1 tsp allspice) I will certainly make them again very soon but will sub anise extract for the seeds as a try.I use the things I bake as gifts to the neighborhood kids (and their parents)and the people who work in my dentist and doctor's office. This one is definitely a keeper. Makes about 50 1" cookies. I bake on parchment so they never stick. Richard B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Liked these A LOT! Very light and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking in Duluth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These are very mellow cookies...they have just enough spice to taste it but you might like a little more punch! Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nasa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I've only made these once, but they turned out quite well. They are pretty mild and/or bland, so keep that in mind when serving them (or even when making them.) I was worried about the anise flavor. I like it, but I can't stand it when it's too strong. It's pretty mild in these cookies, so if you're a huge fan, I think you could definitely safely add quite a bit more. I don't have a rolling pin (I know...) so I rolled pieces up into small logs, sliced them off, then pressed them with the bottom of a glass on a floured surface. It didn't look quite as nice as it would have with a cookie cutter, but it was quick and easy so if presentation doesn't matter to you, that's an option. Next time I might add a little more rum and/or anise. Oh, yeah, I also didn't marinate the seeds over night. I guess it's probably more delicious if you do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I made one batch and ate them all. I had to make another to share with friends. They are like a shortbread cookie and so yummy. I added a little anise oil to mine because I love the flavor. I know I will be making these again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
this was an excellent cookie, tender texture, nice flavor. the texture and flavor developed over a few days, they tasted better than the first day. I made them with real butter and used Myers dark rum, I sandwiched them with a buttercream frosting using dark rum as the liquid, and powdered the top. When I brought them to work with a Christmas cookie assortment, my coworkers said they were "the bomb!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Im sorry. This was the most discusting cookie I have ever eaten. Even my neighbors kids wouldnt eat it. My husband is Guatemalan and LOVES Anise, and was more than unimpressed. It was just a discusting taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyzookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
These tasted great and melted in your mouth. But they were not pretty to look at and very crumbly in texture. The cookies fell apart very easyily, so they were difficult to store or present on a cookie tray. I think that rolling them out thicker would be better. Or, since the dough was so sticky, maybe skip the whole rolling the dough out part and just make them into balls and flatten a bit with a fork or a glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Very Unique is what my husband said and I agree. I think I will make these every Christmas! I frosted these with a butter frosting with some rum flavoring mixed in (could use straight rum if you rather). The only problem I had with these is that I couldn't stop eating the scraps from the cut-outs! I bet it would have made more cookies if I wouldn't have ate the dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I made this recipe and my whole family says that it leaves a sawdust after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States