Anise Pizzelles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is my favorite pizzelle recipe as I find that they ship w/o a lot of breakage when when you don't use any butter. I use canola oil. A while back, I bought A LOT of anise extract on sale; I just use twice as much in place of the anise oil. Yum....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Thin and crunchy. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
just like grandmas...in fact exactly grandma's from Italy...Perfect. I didn't have to call my mom for the recipe this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I've been making Pizzelles for more than 20 years. Storage is the Biggest Issue! Around Christmas, huge humidity issues ... I store my pizzelles in a glass Jar with those little "stay-fresh Silica Gel capsules that come in vitamin/medicine jars & also new shoe boxes". (What a HUGE difference!!!! BEWARE: if you have children that can access cookies, put them high up so they cant access the little chemical packs". Especially helpful for large batches... not that they last very long at all....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
This is a great recipe! Of course you don't HAVE to use anise oil, but why wouldn't you if you really want a good anise flavor! Thanks so much for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
No you can't use a wafflle iron! Butter makes the difference and makes them crisp. Anise oil, lemon oil et. is much better than he extracts in these flavors. Also, add lemon zest or orange zest to the batter. I've never heard of using Anise seeds in these...I wouldn't like that and as far as I know th anise oil is authentic not the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Finally a recipe for Pizzelles that calls for anise oil! I had one long ago, but lost the recipe. Thank you so much for posting it. The anise oil gives a more intense flavor of anise to the cookie, much better than anise extract which is more commonly found. Love it, Love it, Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
my grandmother has made these a long time and you do not have to use anise oil. juniorscout
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States