Anise Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Anizeplaëtchen! Thank you, thank you for posting this! My Barbadian-American mom and I used to make these every Christmas; but somewhere along the line I managed to lose her recipe. Have searched high and low but never found just the right recipe -- and now, here's the closest approximation I've found to date! I remember her recipe called for beating the batter for 20 minutes, dropping the batter onto a baking sheet and then letting these self-frosting cookies sit overnight before baking (in order to form the topping). Whatever... Thanks again for posting this; can't wait to get home and try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is very similar to the Aniskuchen recipe in an old German cookbook I have. It has obviously been "Anglicized," and I'm glad to see it here. The original recipe calls for leaving the cookie trays set out for a couple of hours for partial drying, just as one leaves Springerle out to dry before baking. I'm glad of the tip about small eggs. Maybe that's why my results are inconsistent. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buckley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
You left out: drop by teaspoonfulls on a greased & floured pan (or use Pam for Baking - works better). Then let dry for 8 hours (or overnight)before baking. Cookies will then develop the propper frosting-like crust on top. You can't make these cookies in rainy or humid weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I make these often. I use the bulk/bagged anise seed in the Hispanic food section, rather than the overpriced little jars in the spice section. Also, rather than beat the eggs and sugar that long, I just mix the two, then let them sit until the sugar is dissolved (which is the whole point, anyway). Yummy, always! I like mine a bit on the chewy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
taste is great, but got very hard very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I liked, but a little too crispy for me so I reduced the baking time to 10 min. I also didn't care for the large pieces of anise seed so I put it through a pepper grinder and used 1/2 Tbs. instead of 1 Tbs. The flavor was very mild, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Great. However, my husband (and his brother and uncle) remember their grandmonther's (mother to uncle) cookies were very hard and dry and stood up like little mountains. Apparently the dough must be very stiff to keep it from drooping to flat cookies. How can we change the recipe to make this happen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Pretty delicious. Not so sure what exactly the taste is. Very something my grandmother made. Kind of bland, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
These had an intriguing texture and taste. Unfortunately, after about 3 days their texture started to get a little strange. Very good if they are eaten fresh. I used a large egg with no ill effects, and substituted about 1/2tsp ground star anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Interesting texture. Initially sweet, then fades to anise. Might be good with a light sugar glaze, too. Will make again. Addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States