Anise Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Yum! Yum! Yum! I have been looking for a while for an outstanding biscotti recipe to use as a base, and I do believe this is it! My favorite kind is Toasted Almond with Cranberries. I use about a cup of toasted, slivered almonds, and a handful of dried cranberries chopped fairly small for a sprinkle of color and tartness. I use 2t of almond extract in place of the anise extract and 1/3 cup of milk (or half and half) in place of the brandy. I leave out the anise seed. Overall, this is a very simple, so-far-foolproof biscotti recipe that is easily adapted for use with whatever ingredients you have on hand. I'm so thrilled to have come across it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This biscotti is delicious! I've made it several times even substituting almond extract for the anise extract with terrific results. The tops can be dipped in melted chocolate for a special treat. I made several batches at Christmas time and wrapped them up as gifts for co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
GREAT won't last a month. Had to make a new batch after one week. Had to use apricot brandy for a batch and it was a bonus. I will try other brandies but fear to change what is perfect. I did set out butter and eggs to room temp. before using. Sifted flour into measuring cups and tried to not beat too much when adding dry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEOFFOUR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
These were really good but as others suggested, I upped the anise content and I would do even more the next time. I made only a single loaf and upped the extract to just over a tsp and 2 Tbs anise seed. I think next time I'll add another half tablespoon of seed and a few more splashes of extract. Also used 5% cream for the liquid per Sweetooth instead of brandy and it worked great. I am brand new to biscotti as of this recipe and if you are too MAKE SURE YOUR LOAVES ARE FLAT. Mine was too tall, had to bake it too long (so the ends dried up)and when I went to cut, the middle still wasn't completely baked through so the tops of my cookies crumbled. This is why I do test batches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I found this recipe a couple of years ago, and loved it! As I am the only one in my family with a taste for anise, I modified this for Orange Pecan Biscotti substituting Gran Marnier for the Brandy, grated orange peel for the anise seed, orange extract for the anise extract and toasted chopped pecans for the almonds. Delicious! It is my family and friends' favorite. My brother can't stop eating them once he starts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This is the easiest and best tasting recipe I have ever tried - threw out all my other biscotti recipes. This one is a keeper. Family loved them - gone in 2 days - will have to double next time. I followed the recipe exactly as posted and used convection bake on my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Everything about this recipe turned out colossal. The size of my biscotti, the size of the anise seeds I used and the flavor! Very good recipe, brings back childhood memories of Easter. Next time will shape loaves smaller and use mortar and pestle on seeds to try to incorporate seeds more into dough. Thank you Laria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Do not be afraid of the biscotti! If I can make this, so can you. I left out the anise seed (I didn't have it). But this needed much longer to dry after cutting, so plan accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2000
This recipe was my first attempt at biscotti. These are the most delicious biscotti I have ever tasted. My family raved about them and have since begged me to make them again. The aroma while the biscotti are baking is heavenly. They last for weeks in an air-tight container, if you hide them that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by toni lee
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I think these biscotti turned out just okay; however my husband LOVED them! We made a pot of coffee after dinner tonight and he downed several of these biscotti...I ate one or two. While the biscotti are tasty enough, to me they lack something...seems like a key ingredient is missing! As a child, I often made Anise Biscotti with my beloved mom and the anise flavor was really intense, which I like a lot. To me, these biscotti are flavorful but way too light on anise. I calculated the recipe to make half the amount of servings as written (I yielded about 26 biscotti) and doing so, I actually DOUBLED the anise extract from the ORIGINAL recipe that yields 60 biscuits (I used 3 teaspoons of anise extract). I also used 2 full heaping tablespoons of anise seed for my dough recipe even though I halved the original recipe. Perhaps working with the dough and the biscotti for an hour or so dulled my sense & taste for anise! At any rate, I will definitely be making these biscotti again but I'm gonna tweak the recipe a bit. Also, just as a mention...the dough is very wet, sticky and rather difficult to work with. Rather than wet my hands, etc I just floured my board and my hands really well before turning out the dough & prior to shaping it. On parchment paper that I placed over my cookie sheet, I used a long, floured carving knife to sorta mold and push the dough into 2 long and low log shapes. Doing all of this made working with the dough much much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States