Anise Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
These were really good but as others suggested, I upped the anise content and I would do even more the next time. I made only a single loaf and upped the extract to just over a tsp and 2 Tbs anise seed. I think next time I'll add another half tablespoon of seed and a few more splashes of extract. Also used 5% cream for the liquid per Sweetooth instead of brandy and it worked great. I am brand new to biscotti as of this recipe and if you are too MAKE SURE YOUR LOAVES ARE FLAT. Mine was too tall, had to bake it too long (so the ends dried up)and when I went to cut, the middle still wasn't completely baked through so the tops of my cookies crumbled. This is why I do test batches :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Made these for baskets we gave out for Christmas. No one could believe they were homemade. Now we make them every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is an outstanding recipe: the first biscotti I've made that isn't so hard as to break your teeth. Crisp, but not too hard. What worked really well for me was to chill the dough overnight. Still used some flour to make the roll, but much easier to work with chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
These are delicious!! I made a few changes: substituted almond for anise extract, added some orange zest and Triple Sec instead of plain brandy. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
De-lish!! I had fun with another variety..I had no brandy, I used Gran Marnier. I love ginger so my 'wet' bowl was GM, jarred ground ginger paste and orange extract. My add in was candied ginger, candied orange and almonds. Easy to follow recipe directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Sooo good! My first try at making biscotti and it is easy and delicious. I didn't want to vary from the recipe but didn't have brandy so used Peach Schnapps - no problem. I used a serrated bread knife that worked well - no broken cookies. I have already decided that these will be in my holiday baking for gifts list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I made these for a benefit bake sale. Packaged individually in snack bags with identifying labels made on the computer made them attractive, easy to sell and; of course, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Bend, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
These are great biscotti. The only changes I made were I added some dried cherries and then drizzled them with white chocolate. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Everything about this recipe turned out colossal. The size of my biscotti, the size of the anise seeds I used and the flavor! Very good recipe, brings back childhood memories of Easter. Next time will shape loaves smaller and use mortar and pestle on seeds to try to incorporate seeds more into dough. Thank you Laria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA
Living In: Middletown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly (well maybe a bit more anise extract) and these are the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States