Anise Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This recipe was my first attempt at biscotti. Didn’t have any brandy so I used kahlua. No almonds (we are not big almond fans) but wow was this easy breezy. They plumped more than I expected so next time I will down size the loaf and make three instead of two. Son’s latest GF said oh wow this is so way better then starbucks’. She gave them a 10 son was to into eating them so say. Hubby said good cookies hun what made you make them into planks? I love my man. I just said easy to dip in your coffee that way hun. I will make them again and again. Thank you Laria for a wonderful recipe and grate directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Fabulous and easy recipe - I didn't use the brandy, but substituted lemon juice instead. Also used poppy seeds instead of aniseed (cupboard was bare!) and the end result was FANTASTIC!! Thanks so much for this crowd-pleaser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Always a crowd pleaser! I dip one side in melted andes candies mints - it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Thanks to the original recipe writer and all the reviewers because the whole allrecipes community helped me make knock-out biscottis for my boyfriend's dad's 62nd birthday party. The changes I did were as follows: doubled the almonds (might do even more next time) and added them to the flour mixture. Used heavy whipping cream instead of brandy. For the anise extract I used 2 tsp and then added 1 tsp of almond extract. I didn't quite double the anise seed but I will next time. All in all everyone loved them as am I right now with my morning coffee-Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel 'Tha Pizza Cutta' Joyce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Light & delicious..My tips make this recipe a breeze. I added dry roasted unsalted almonds. Give them a rough chop and add with the flour. I also oiled my hands a bit with olive oil to avoid the dough from sticking to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Wonderful! I enjoy a stronger anise flavor so I doubled the anise extract and seed. I also added half again as many almonds since that was my husband's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I Like to take this recipe and dip the ends in melted chocolate once they are cooled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Excellent! I doubled the anise extract as I didn't have anise seed. This cookie has a great texture that isn't hard to bite. It needs to be baked a little longer than 20 minutes after slicing. I will make this again, but will be sure to have anise seed on hand; as, I'm sure it would be even more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
These are really good... I used almond extract instead, but next time I'll try the spices like others suggested... You dip them in coffee and they melt in your mouth... definitely a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These are time consuming, but absoutely worth the effort. We all loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States