Anise Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Didn't have brandy, so I decided to go the orange and almond route. Used 1 tsp. vanilla, and 1 1/2 tsp. good almond extract instead of anise. In place of the anise seed, I had an abundance of clemintines, so I grated a tbsp. of the rind, and then used the juice in place of the brandy...Very good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly. Baking time and all. Do not be tempted to add flour or bake longer. Due to my own preference of not liking anise seed I did omit them. Make sure your fingers are moistened in forming the dough logs. My mother in law, an old school italian said they were perfect, just like the "old days". Thirty years I can't count on one hand that she thought I got it right!!!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Just made this recipe last night for a brunch potluck for my husband. They are sooo good...This morning I got a call from him asking where I got the recipe, the girls at the office loved them! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This cookie is excellent! I didn't have anise seed or oil so I filled a tablespoon with anise extract alsmost to the top until I ran out. I topped it off with almond extract and threw that in. Taking the advice of another reviewer I also doubled the vanilla. The logs are really easy to work with as long as you wet your hands with cold water. I've tried 4 other biscotti recipes from this site and have to say that this one is definitely best. The brandy is a nice plus. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amalia1961

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
i only made half the recipe because i'm the only one that will eat them. they tasted pretty good. I didn't add the brandy because i dont have any alcohol around. I used someone else's suggestion by using heavy cream in place of it. make the log about half the size it says because they grew a lot during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
very easy.. These keep for about 2 weeks and I love to take them to work and leave by coffee pot to share. You can dip in Choc. to chande the flavor a bit. I love these and try to always have them in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blair, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
We all enjoyed these biscotti. The instruction was easy to follow and a total success. I already made this several times and will make more to give as a gift during the Xmas season. Well deserved the five-star rating, congratulations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is the only recipe on allrecipes I've come across with a complete 5-star rating - and it deserves it! The flavor and texture of these is delicious, and it's easy to make. I didn't have any anise seed or extract, so I substituted sambuca for the anise extract and also used 1/2 brandy/1/2 sambuca, instead of 100% brandy. The dough tastes and smells like Christmas. The recipe says to put two loafs on each cookie sheet, but if you do that, they're very small (certainly not the size illustrated). You might want to only make 2-3 loaves total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ehreng
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
my first try making biscotti. I was determined to have almond ones, so I substituted Amaretto for the Brandy, almond extract for the anise extract and poppy seeds for anise seeds. It was fantastic and didn't last the weekend (and then I bought anise for next time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehreng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States