Anise Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
They came out perfect. Also freeze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
You have to bake the cookies 3 times, which makes it a little time consuming, but it's worth it for what you get. I made this just as the recipe states, and it was perfect. I brought them to my Women's Club welcome tea, and one of the ladies was stuffing her pocketbook with them. She called me the next day to say how wonderful they were, and how much she was enjoying them. At first I could not find anise seeds, but a new up scale grocery store opened, and they carried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICADEZ
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Just awesome!!! Although I did change a couple of things: doubled the anise extract and used crushed pecans. I also only made 2 large strips but will definitely make 4 strips next time as the recipe states. Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
i always make this biscotti recipe during christmas but they are good and time.. one of my faves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niala

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by toni lee
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I think these biscotti turned out just okay; however my husband LOVED them! We made a pot of coffee after dinner tonight and he downed several of these biscotti...I ate one or two. While the biscotti are tasty enough, to me they lack something...seems like a key ingredient is missing! As a child, I often made Anise Biscotti with my beloved mom and the anise flavor was really intense, which I like a lot. To me, these biscotti are flavorful but way too light on anise. I calculated the recipe to make half the amount of servings as written (I yielded about 26 biscotti) and doing so, I actually DOUBLED the anise extract from the ORIGINAL recipe that yields 60 biscuits (I used 3 teaspoons of anise extract). I also used 2 full heaping tablespoons of anise seed for my dough recipe even though I halved the original recipe. Perhaps working with the dough and the biscotti for an hour or so dulled my sense & taste for anise! At any rate, I will definitely be making these biscotti again but I'm gonna tweak the recipe a bit. Also, just as a mention...the dough is very wet, sticky and rather difficult to work with. Rather than wet my hands, etc I just floured my board and my hands really well before turning out the dough & prior to shaping it. On parchment paper that I placed over my cookie sheet, I used a long, floured carving knife to sorta mold and push the dough into 2 long and low log shapes. Doing all of this made working with the dough much much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Although I hate everything anise, I made these for an elderly, estranged Italian friend of ours when I found out it is his favorite kind of cookie. My husband and son liked them very much, and I actually did not mind the anise flavor after all, maybe because it's very mild. (By the way, I used 1 tsp ground anise instead of the extract since I did not have any, and used more seeds than called for). The thing I had trouble with was the consistency which was very sticky before baking, and crumbly after. I also had to bake it way longer than stated. I've had better luck with other biscotti recipes, but this was worth making at least for the sake of those who like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made these for my family and friends as Christmas presents. They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE221

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is very moist and tasy biscotti, far better than the bland ones I have made before. The only thing was the brandy left a bad after-taste which surprised me. And I used a new, good brand. I thought the alcohol's bitter taste would cook out, but it did not. I would instead use one tablespoon brandy instead of 1/3 cup, or just leave it out altogether. You also can cook the dough an extra 8 - 10 minutes longer the first time around and then there is no need to double bake it --it makes for a softer cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This looks like a great recipe.....Has anyone ever made it in high altitude?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I went on a biscotti binge this holiday and made 5 different biscotti: This one is definitely my favorite. I never made biscotti before and I was a bit nervous. I followed the recipe exactly and it was just the right texture and taste. My family loves it and I bagged a bunch for gifts. Thank you for this wonderful biscotti recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States