Anise Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
These biscotti are to die for. I also tweaked the recipe and instead of adding anise and almonds I added amaretto, dried apricots and almonds. Can't do up a cookie tray without adding the Biscotti now, everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
These are the bomb! Not too strong in anise flavor. I follow the recipe and directions exactly. My father just loves them. This is the third time I have made them for him as a gift. He keeps requesting them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I divided this recipe in half and felt the dough was just a little tacky. It took twice as long to bake and it really expanded. The cookies were very large, but that isn't a bad thing. Saying all this, it was an easy and very flavorful cookie. Will make these again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
SO SO good. This is my go to recipe for the holidays. I made over a dozen batches this year. There are SO many ways to alter the recipe to taste. I did an espresso hazelnut, cranberry orange almond, almond anise chocolate chip, etc.... you can do whatever you like with them and they're always delicious. It is a great basic recioe to build off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICK4URBAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This recipe just did not work. After the first baking, the logs were dry and crumbly. I had to add extra flour to make it more dough-like and it still spread too thin in the pan. I didn't even bother cutting more than one log to bake the second time. They just fell apart. The flavor was not good, despite using extra flavoring to replace the brandy called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Great Recipe! I love how simple it is. For us I don't put in almonds or anise seed and adjust the vanilla and brandy however I feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Based on the reviews and my love of anise, I was expecting this to be perfect. Anise flavor is there, but not overwhelming. I found these to be a bit dry and annoying to slice due to crumbling. Can halve the recipe - 4 strips is a lot. I made the Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti the same day - that one was by far everyone's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great recipe! I make 1/2 a recipe in the food processor. I process all the dry ingredients first. Cut the butter into 1 tablespoon pieces and process til the mixture looks like breadcrumbs. Add all the wet ingredients next (4 tsp of anise extract) and add the almonds just before the batter comes together. Shape with wet fingers and bake for 30 mins on parchment. Cool and slice for second bake. 13-15 mins per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is the best biscotti recipe I've tried. I add a little more anise extract. I think the brandy really makes this recipe.. it's subtle but really rounds out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This biscotti is very good. I used 1 T. of anise seeds and left out the extract. I also added 1.5 tsp. cinnamon. Everyone in my family adores these. Be aware that they do spread out quite a bit while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States