Angry Bird Bar-B-Cue Chicken and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! I have a lot of people over for holiday get togethers and I have been making this in the crockpot. EVERYONE raves about it! It allows me to enjoy my company, serve awesome food, and I make so much that I don't have to worry about running out! Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Our book club hostess served this and all 10 of us loved it. It was very tasty. She had rolls and provolone cheese to make it a sandwich. It was a huge hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
The 5 star rating is because my husband is raving about this one. Our small town grocer did not have andouille sausage so I used hot Italian sausage (which is really more flavor than heat). I "picked" the chicken meat off a rotisserie chicken the night before, so this was pretty easy to make if you're a quick chopper. I did back the BBQ sauce down to just 2 cups (16 oz.). Choose your BBQ sauce wisely as this will heavily impact flavor. We used Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce which worked well. I did forget to buy the fresh cilantro but it was still very good. Served with plain mashed potatoes to balance the intense flavors of this dish. We plan to serve leftovers as a filling in some Cuban bread brought by a friend from Florida who pays the "Cuban Bread Toll" when she visits. UPDATE: Have made this successfully several times to my family's delight. However, the last time, it was not up to par. Here's what went wrong as a cautionary tale: I used boiled chicken rather than rotisserie chicken so the chicken sort of disintegrated. Also purchased honey flavored Sweet Baby Rays by mistake instead of original Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce which made a surprisingly unhappy difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Pretty good. Not great and probably not something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I just made this last night for my boyfriend and we loved it! I used a honey barbeque sauce and we put the final product in a tortilla with some monty-Jack cheese. So good! I only used half an onion and only two whole peppers. This is fantastic! Next time we're gonna put it in a calzone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
THIS DISH ROCKS!! I didn't have red onion so I used a yellow and didn't have a yellow bell so I used a orange and I used chicken broth in place of water. Otherwise all was the same and I'm not lying....it rocked! I will make it again and maybe for my next church meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Great recipes. Easy to make and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Loved it! I used some spicy breakfast sausage and added a splash of Worcestershire sauce. This will absolutely be a regular in our home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I think I'll try it in a mini phyllo cup as an appetizer first. I'll be back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IndyFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish (and I almost followed the recipe - ha!) The only real change I made was to leave out the bbq sauce and we each put our own on our plates. The cilantro was a nice, fresh touch, also! My legally-bound-by-marriage food guinea pig is sometimes skeptical about my food experiments, but this was met with hearty and resounding, "This is pretty good." (And no sense of surprise in his voice.) He mentioned that it might be fun to put the filling in tortillas or even pair it with eggs for a fun brunch dish. I thought about adding mushrooms, but I forgot. Oh dang. Guess I'll just have to add them the next few times I make this :) Thanks for a great recipe. This one is actually going in the "make again" file, because 1. It's easy. 2. It's pretty tasty and 3. Did I mention it's good AND easy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States