Anginetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
Cookies tasted really good, yet took a lottle extra effort to make than your average cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
These little gems were soo quick tomake, they were done in between making a pizza and cooking spaghetti marinara with minimal time and mess. I didnt have a bakers piping bag however I made the cookies as little logs and they were just delicious. Better than any you can buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
These cookies were wonderful and tasted just like the ones my grandmother used to make. Her recipe called for lemon extract so I added a little to the dough. I also used a cookie press which made dealing with this very sticky dough easy. I would also only cook until the bottom edges just begin to brown. Great recipe - Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
The first reviewer is right: a cookie press makes the gooey dough simple to handle and the cookies don't need 20 minutes to bake. These are very Italian cookies, not overly sweet, with a subtle eggy flavor set off by the tart lemon icing. The outside is sturdy and the inside tender and rather dry. The frosting dries like a fondant - hard, glossy and stackable. This cookie will appeal to adults more than to children. It's great with coffee and better the second day than it is fresh. These will ship well. The recipe as printed makes plenty of extra frosting, possibly enough for a second batch of cookies. Next time I'll use more lemon juice and less water in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
This is a good recipe for anginetti.... very sticky though and hard to work with.... putting in fridge to harden up for a couple hours makes dough easier to work with and improves cookie.... you can also add lemon extract or oil to the dough and you can also make them anise orange or almond flavored with matching icing.... for those who don't know what this cookie is it is a simple delicate "eggy" cookie.... not sweet untill you put icing.... icing is needed on this one... my grandmother always frosted with very pale easter colors... pastels.... pink green yellow .... and you could also do blue or plain white is okay but not as pretty..... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I loved the hint of lemon in these. These were a bit involved for me, but everyone seemed to like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Point Of Rocks, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
The Anginetti recipe is a dream come true. My Traditional Italian grandmother made these cookies every year and they were bakery perfect. None that I baked came out like hers until I tried this recipe. It really tastes like the authentic quality of melting in your mouth heaven and a not too sweet experience. They are a "Wow!" To give the cookies a more melt in your mouth quality, I substituted Crisco for the butter. I used the same amount that the recipe calls for. The Crisco needs to be heated and melted then cooled in order to take these cookies up one more notch towards perfection. The next variation that I added is actual lemon zest, in both the cookie and the icing. It then creates a cookie that is truly at the peak of gourmet perfection. I share this recipe with others, and I bake these cookies for so many holiday gifts for family, friends and loved ones. It's the one the people start asking for weeks and weeks before the holidays get into swing. They say, "I hope you're gonna bring us those lemon cookies again this year!!! What more can I say. Just make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Great Recipe! Very similar to what you would find in a bakery. My only suggestion would be to put the dough in a ziploc bag and snip off the tip (instead of using a pastry bag).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Love this recipe. I did add lemon zest to the icing to make it a bit more lemony. My one mistake was I made the cookies a bit on the small side. Next time I'll make them bigger just like you see in the Italian bakeries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I had high hopes for cookie. It tasted like a lemon biscuit-very doughy & the frosting was not lemony enough. Even doctoring the frosting with extra lemon extract and juice couldn't help. Would definitely not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States